Stepover lines?

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Stepover lines?

Postby rtibbs2018 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:42 am

IMG_0721post.jpg



I know it's a lousy picture however, it's the best angle I could get to capture what I'm questioning.
On the final 3D finish pass I am getting a section several pass widths wide which are cutting slightly deeper than the rest.
They are very noticeable to the naked eye and the 'fingernail' test
Not sure what is causing this however, I'm "assuming" it's machine related.

Still learnin'

Ron
rtibbs2018
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:15 pm
Location: Central Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot desktop

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby TReischl » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:58 am

Maybe, maybe not.

I used to get that quite a bit when I would use models that were exported from another program as bitmap files (bmp). The grayscale would look perfect coming out of Corel but when converted into a model, there they were. Never did figure out what exactly was causing it. Some of the experts here (Randy Newcomb IIRC) advised me to use a .tiff format instead. That helped quite a bit.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby wb9tpg » Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:07 am

rtibbs2018 wrote:
IMG_0721post.jpg

I'm "assuming" it's machine related.

Still learnin'

Ron


I'd agree and look at tramming your machine
wb9tpg
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby scottp55 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:53 am

Any possibility you were leaning on the machine at that particular point to inspect the cut?
Somebody posted once, and turns out that what it was :)
scott
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2908
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9.5

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby ger21 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:58 am

Tramming won't fix that. It's mostly likely a loose coupler or something similar, where it moved a little one way, then moved back to where it was.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1447
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby 4DThinker » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:55 pm

Depending on how the toolpath was set up, it could be that after clearing an area the board may have bowed up. When the bit comes back to clear an area it previously skipped for efficiency it cuts relatively deeper even though to the CNC it was cutting perfectly as programmed. I've had exactly this happen when cutting 3D surfaces that cover most of a board. Wood moves.

4D
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby TReischl » Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:38 pm

What all these posts indicate is that there is a lot of things that have to be right or else. . . . . grrrrr.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Stepover lines?

Postby rtibbs2018 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:12 pm

Thanks guy's,
lots to consider.
Everything seems to be right and tight, not leaning on machine.
These are D&M files with one exception that was an imported .obj file combined with a Vectric clipart plaque. so I would hope they are not the issue.

It's not the first time it's happened.


Unfortunately, I believe it comes down to "You get what you pay for" :mrgreen:
May be time to upgrade my machine as I purchased this one to see if CNC'ing was something I'd be interested in continuing...….It is :mrgreen:
I guess I could always stick with 2D but what's to fun in that!
rtibbs2018
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:15 pm
Location: Central Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot desktop


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pete Cyr and 25 guests