3d outline

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

3d outline

Postby grandlase » Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:57 pm

Hi guys,

I am using aspire 9.5 to cut 3d stuff. But after I import the model, it shows that the boundary of the model very rough and it is more clear to see when I use the outline function.
The model that picture shows should be a round corner. Is there any way to fix it?
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture1.PNG
grandlase
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sytec

Re: 3d outline

Postby Adrian » Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:16 pm

What resolution do you have the job set to? How big is the model compared to the material size?

https://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tr ... video_id=9
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 3d outline

Postby grandlase » Tue Jul 02, 2019 8:44 pm

Adrian wrote:What resolution do you have the job set to? How big is the model compared to the material size?

https://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tr ... video_id=9


Hi,

I set the resolution tas maximum and the model size is 23" by 15". material size is 36" by 36
grandlase
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sytec

Re: 3d outline

Postby Adrian » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:01 pm

I wouldn't create a model on a piece of material that much bigger than the model, you're wasting a lot of pixels. Better to follow the recommendations in the video.

Have you toolpathed and previewed it? I wouldn't worry too much what the pixels look like when you zoom in. They are more than likely far smaller than the tool you would be using to cut something of those dimensions.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 3d outline

Postby grandlase » Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:33 pm

Adrian wrote:I wouldn't create a model on a piece of material that much bigger than the model, you're wasting a lot of pixels. Better to follow the recommendations in the video.

Have you toolpathed and previewed it? I wouldn't worry too much what the pixels look like when you zoom in. They are more than likely far smaller than the tool you would be using to cut something of those dimensions.


Got it. I made the material size smaller and it comes better. the other problem I have is the outline tool. it creates an outline that runs into the model, it is not the real outline of the model which is a problem when i see the finished part, the piece is not like the model
grandlase
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sytec

Re: 3d outline

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:43 pm

Please upload a complete screenshot or two, so we can see what you are talking about and maybe offer some helpful suggestions.

Even better, upload your actual Vectric file (not a PDF, not gcode, but the actual Vectric file!). If the file is too large to upload here, then use a free file transfer service such as DropBox and then post the download link here instead.

Make it easy for us to help you. Please.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3882
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: 3d outline

Postby grandlase » Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:12 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/x22dyoquowki1 ... 1.crv?dl=0

First off thanks for all the help
I uploaded a dropbox with the file if possible I would love to see a toolpath from the community maybe I am doing it wrong?

thanks in advance
grandlase
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sytec

Re: 3d outline

Postby TReischl » Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:22 am

This whole model boundary thing can be really misunderstood. It is NOT controlling how round corners in a model will be cut unless it is used for something like a profile cut.

When I need to have something like a perfect round corner I create those vectors rather than relying on the tool that creates a boundary automatically. I am pretty sure the intended function of that tool is to control the area where the tool cuts. If you think about it that tool is nothing more than a tracing algorithm, there is no way a tracing program knows that a radius should be tangent to two lines and be of a certain radius.

I am curious as to WHY this is important to you? Sometimes we get hung up on "I think it should do it this way, it doesn't, so now it is an issue for me. Even though it actually has little to no effect on the end result." Not saying that is the case, just wondering, it is a model, not a part for a Space X missle.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2716
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: 3d outline

Postby Pete Cyr » Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:34 am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wx7lqfweg0ikz ... crv3d?dl=0
-sample revised.png

I took your sample and tweaked it a bit to get better model.
Opened in 50x resolution
opened you sample file
Smoothed a bit
Sliced it 35x
deleted the 2 lowest slices
Created a new component from view
increased the shape height to give a bit more definition lost in smoothing
added a modeling plan
Merged by modeling plane and component by create a new component from view
Created vector boundaries
created a rubber band boundary vector using the boundary vectors
opened a new file at 7x resolution
copied the componet and vectors into the new file and saved
created a 3D tool path and 2d cutout tool path
Pete Cyr
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 4:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II

Re: 3d outline

Postby Leo » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:36 pm

Peter,

Interesting strategy. I like it and will try it some day. I like the slicing and deleting the lower slices. Interesting approach.

Thanks for posting that.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: 3d outline

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:48 pm

Leo wrote:Peter,

Interesting strategy. I like it and will try it some day. I like the slicing and deleting the lower slices. Interesting approach.

Thanks for posting that.


That was a fairly common strategy I used prior to when the Replace Below gadget became available. I seldom need to use the slicing/deleting procedure anymore. The Replace Below is my “go-to” now for trimming away the bottom bits of a model, when required.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3882
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: 3d outline

Postby Pete Cyr » Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:52 pm

Michael - I use that quite a bit - but sometime I find it faster when I am unsure how much I want to delete to just slice and see what it looks like
Pete Cyr
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 4:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II

Re: 3d outline

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:16 pm

Ok, Pete. Nuttin’ wrong with that.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3882
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: 3d outline

Postby grandlase » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:16 pm

@ Pete Cyr thanks a gazillion! we followed the instructions and it works well aldo it takes forever like 10 hours but the end result is great!
Thanks again for all the input you guys rock!
Attachments
IMG-20190710-WA0050.jpg
grandlase
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: sytec

Re: 3d outline

Postby martin54 » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:52 pm

grandlase wrote:@ Pete Cyr thanks a gazillion! we followed the instructions and it works well aldo it takes forever like 10 hours but the end result is great!
Thanks again for all the input you guys rock!


Couple of things that can help with 3D machining times if you don't already know are increasing the actaul tool plunge rate, I often have it set at almost the same speed as the tool feed rate.
In the material set up (on the toolpathing side) your Z1 & Z2 settings. I have both of these set to low & that will also make a difference to machining times. :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4531
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Next

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests