Toolpath preview not matching actual routed sign

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
treverinterstate
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC

Toolpath preview not matching actual routed sign

Post by treverinterstate »

I have an Industrial CNC router 510 using Aspire to build the files, save them as gcode and putting them in Mach3 software to be routed. I am completely new to routing and everything I'm learning is from forum's or YouTube videos, and trial and error. I'm trying to cut a 3d sign with a wood grain background. I tried layering vector files in over the background but found just a regular .jpeg image works the best. In my preview it showed it was going to cut exactly like I wanted. See attached photos. First, I didn't do the 3d roughing and I used a ballnose bit. Some where the file switched and the woodgrain changed directions and it didn't cut the file right at all. Then I did a 3d roughing using a 1/8 endmil I think I had it set to a machining allowance at .1 because I watched a video that said you should set it to the size of your tool and it cut very little then I did the 3d finishing used a .5" v-bit. and it went all the way thru the board. I edited the file from .5 inch material to .3/8 inch hoping it wouldn't go all the way thru but it still did the same thing. So I changed the 3d roughing file tool settings 0 machining allowance and it was going to cut more of the background out but it gets almost to the end and it starts routing the same file over the other one?! I can't figure out why it keeps changing?! Any help is appreciated!
Thanks.
Attachments
Toolpath preview
Toolpath preview

treverinterstate

Re: Toolpath preview not matching actual routed sign

File cuts twice
File cuts twice
This is the same file in the same day with no stops it gets to the top and it starts cutting just the top area again. It was set on a conventional climb so it makes no sense to me at all.
Attachments
Woodgrain background switches direction