Stopping & Restarting a project

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Stopping & Restarting a project

Postby Vic100 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:50 am

Hi Everyone,

Being a newbie to Aspire and CNC machining I have a lot of questions, for now, just one question. I live in a condo therefore if the project takes a long period of time, I would like to stop the project and then return the next day and restart it where I left off. Can this be done with Aspire? Will the program and machine know where it ended then restart at the same location without programming or mechanical faults. If not, then I would have to schedule shorter projects and I don't want to be limited by time in this way.

Thank you for any help you can give,
Vic100
Vic100
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: oozy cnc

Re: Stopping & Restarting a project

Postby gkas » Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:13 am

It's totally up to how your machine works..... it's a machine function, not Aspire.
User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 457
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Re: Stopping & Restarting a project

Postby Stephen50 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 2:11 am

I'm able to assist you in stopping and restarting a file providing you have a Shopbot.
- Go to Shopbot.com
- Highlight support
- Highlight Tutorials and videos
- Shopbot Training SB3 Control Software

TJ provides a step by step process on starting, stopping, and resuming a file cut.

Your best bet is to contact the manufacturer of your particular machine, or find out if the company has a discussion page and inquire how to accomplish the task your attempting to do.
Stephen50
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Re: Stopping & Restarting a project

Postby mark-s » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:57 am

You can do that in Mach 3.
Search: 180 video by Rodger Webb.
He explains it all.
Let me know how it turns out.
mark-s
mark-s
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:03 am
Location: So. Cal.
Model of CNC Machine: diy 4 X 4 CNC Router

Re: Stopping & Restarting a project

Postby martin54 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:45 am

As has already been said you need to look at your cnc control software not Aspire for this, think it is a feature that most control software seems to have but how to set it up will vary so without knowing what control software you are using it is difficult to give a correct answer. :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4631
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ger21 and 23 guests