Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby Stingray1969 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:23 am

Would you guys take a look and help figure out why my tool paths are so ugly? Same pocket, and the "Larger Area Clearance Tool" tool path is a different height than the smaller tool in the preview.
I've attached a couple of screenshots. Looks like I'll have to get a dropbox account as the .crv3d file is 13 MB.
Attachments
badge01.jpg
badge.jpg
badge02.jpg
(14.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Stingray1969
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Digital Woodcarver 2440

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby martin54 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:37 am

Have you previewed both toolpaths? Using a larger area clearance tool will generate 2 toolpaths, you would need to preview them both to see what the finish was like :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4524
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby SteveNelson46 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:08 pm

I see from your screen shot that your "Pocket Allowance" is set to 0. Try setting it a little higher so the roughing pass will not cut so deep.
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger with Recoil Lathe

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby highpockets » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:18 pm

Pocket Allowance has nothing to do with cut depth...
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby Adrian » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:21 pm

Shouldn't need to adjust that though. They should be exactly the same in the preview. Looking at the screenshot there is something odd going as the cut doesn't look at all right near the bottom of the shot. Really need to see the file to look at the vectors and tool setup.

I've tried duplicating it from the information in the screenshots but it comes out perfectly as it should.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9361
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby highpockets » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:35 pm

LOL!!! Adrian, I just tried duplicating the problem and couldn't either.

If there is no copyright material in you project would you mind posting the crv3d file including toolpaths.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby SteveNelson46 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:07 pm

highpockets wrote:Pocket Allowance has nothing to do with cut depth...


I know that it insets the perimeter so the roughing bit doesn't cut into the edges but I thought it also allowed a little more "skin" for the finish pass.

EDIT: I think I was toolpath confused.
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger with Recoil Lathe

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby highpockets » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:48 pm

SteveNelson46 wrote:
highpockets wrote:Pocket Allowance has nothing to do with cut depth...


I know that it insets the perimeter so the roughing bit doesn't cut into the edges but I thought it also allowed a little more "skin" for the finish pass.

EDIT: I think I was toolpath confused.


Steve, I think you're thinking about Roughing/Finishing toolpaths. The Machining Allowance on the Roughing toolpath does leave an allowance on the machining depth.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby adze_cnc » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:19 pm

Does the "Project toolpath to 3D model" setting being checked have something to do with this?
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby Stingray1969 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:51 am

Yes it is a 3d file. Here is a picture of the full model.

Here is the dropbox link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/slyskr2seraxj ... crv3d?dl=0
Attachments
second.jpg
Stingray1969
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Digital Woodcarver 2440

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby highpockets » Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:25 am

OK, I see the problem. You're trying to project vectors onto a curved component. The problem is a .125" BN can't cut as deep as the 1mm BN when project onto the curved surface.

Either abandon the .125" BN and just use the 1mm or model all the vectors into components and run the whole job using the 3D Roughing/Finishing toolpaths.

The banner is cutting odd because the boundary vector around the banner is not the same size as the banner component.

Hope this helps.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Two different cut depths in same pocket toolpath

Postby Stingray1969 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:37 am

Thanks much, i was having a real tough time figuring this one out. I really appreciate everyone taking time out to have a look at this.
Thanks highpockets now that you've said it, that makes perfect sense...
Thanks again,
Scott
Stingray1969
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Digital Woodcarver 2440


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 28 guests