Tool database

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Tool database

Postby 1601chief » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:45 pm

Does anyone know anything about Vectric tool database on toolstoday.com? Looking at V-bits they don't seem right. Any help with setting up would be appreciated.
Andy
1601chief
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Bowdoin, Maine USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1 with recoil

Re: Tool database

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:56 pm

The diameter seems off on a lot of those files. To be honest it's probably quicker to just type the info in rather than downloading and merging each file like that. The feeds, speeds and pass depths need to be set for your machine/material combination anyway.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Tool database

Postby 1601chief » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:01 pm

I realize that but my biggest problem is stepover on a V-bit. any suggestions to start with? Thankyou for your help.
1601chief
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Bowdoin, Maine USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1 with recoil

Re: Tool database

Postby Adrian » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:48 pm

Whatever you want it to be for what you're doing. I use anywhere between 2% and 40% depending on what I'm doing. The preview will show you what you're going to get.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Tool database

Postby martin54 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:12 pm

As Adrian says stepover is very job dependant & can vary so much that its not really worth worrying about what the tool database figure is unless you are going to set your tool database up with lots of different folders for material & job types.
For the tool database I set my v & engraving bits up for speed, feed, pass depth & plunge for my machine having done some experimenting with them & the stepover I just leave as default :lol: :lol:
I then tend to use the edit tool option on the toolpathing form to change stepover rather than the tool database section :lol: That way it doesn't alter the setting saved in the tool database,
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3986
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Tool database

Postby Leo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:20 pm

A "V" bit is generally not really good at "stepover" processes. Rather they are better at things whereas the cut will have the "V" at the bottom - like in "V" grooving a straight line.

Yes there are exceptions to that rule, but exceptions are few and far between. Like if you were to do text engraving with a flat depth specified.

The problem with stepover with a V bit is that the tip of the V bit comes down to a point - the tip is virtually at .000" wide. So, the stepover is 0 or something really really small. Even at .001, the stepover is too much.

Well - you CAN stepover with a V bit but in about ALL cases the bottom of whatever you are cutting is going to be very rough. That is just the way it is, due to the shape of the V cutter.

You can stepover at any distance you want, but do realize that all you will do it cut V grooves at the distance you specify.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2705
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bob Jr, Google [Bot], thegreatwaldo and 15 guests