Clamps

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Clamps

Postby cconway » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:13 pm

I screw my material to my spoil board, but every now and then you need to be able to clamp something down. I had once seen hold down clamps that screwed directly into the spoil board. I thought it was at Rockler, but they do not have them. Can anyone tell me where I might be able to find them?

Thanks,

Charlie
cconway
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Oxford, CT
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended/Water cooled spindle

Re: Clamps

Postby Adrian » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:20 pm

Dead easy to make screw in clamps. It's just a duck bill shape that you can screw down from the top if you want to clamp the top of the material or place on it's side with an offset screw to use as cam clamp.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Clamps

Postby cconway » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:43 am

Good point! Thanks!
cconway
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 9:40 pm
Location: Oxford, CT
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended/Water cooled spindle

Re: Clamps

Postby DLWOODWORKS » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:19 pm

If you are going to be doing a lot of clamping, you might want to consider making yourself something like this. It's made from 1" MDO. Tracks are from Rockler, but you can get them anywhere. The knobs are just some bulk stuff I found on the internet. The clamps are made from oak or hickory. The table vacuum system holds the MDO securely to the table.
Attachments
T-track hold down.jpg
T-track holddown 1.jpg
T-track holddown 2.jpg
DLWOODWORKS
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:09 am

Re: Clamps

Postby Stephen50 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:47 pm

Review the forum look for clamps in the search bar, I found a clamp that fit my needs downloaded the file modified the clamp slightly and that's what I'm using now. You may also do a search for a waste board that an individual drilled holes in the board inserted t-nuts using 1/4 inch threaded rod. Slip your clamp over the threaded rod and that should resolve your problem
Stephen50
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Re: Clamps

Postby LittleGreyMan » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:53 pm

Some time ago, I posted a file here: https://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=29817&hilit=hold

Can easily be modified to suit your needs.
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests