Balky Rotary Calc

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Balky Rotary Calc

Postby spinningwood » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:03 am

I've had a couple rotary projects now where all of a sudden a toolpath will no longer calculate. I click on calculate and nothing happens. No error message, no toolpath generated. Nothing happens. But if I then click on "recalculate all toolpaths", the toolpath will calculate just fine. But it still won't calculate from the calculate button in the toolpath. It's the vcarve toolpath that I've been noticing it on. I don't have a file that I can post at this time. When I get a chance I'll see if I can duplicate it in a file I can post. But for now I'm just wondering if anyone else is seeing this behavior.

Ed
spinningwood
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Taig Mill and Self Built Routers

Re: Balky Rotary Calc

Postby spinningwood » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:33 am

I've attached a simple rotary project with a toolpath that will not calculate. Everything was fine until I previewed the toolpath. Once I previewed it I could no longer calculate it from within the toolpath. But if I use Recalc all toolpaths it calculates. Really weird. Anyone feel like giving it a try to see if it's just my installation / machine?

Ed
Attachments
Balky_Calc.crv3d
(30 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
spinningwood
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Taig Mill and Self Built Routers

Re: Balky Rotary Calc

Postby spinningwood » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:02 am

After some more playing around, it appears that it does recalculate. It just stops showing the toolpath in 2d view when I recalculate after having done a preview. Now I know that I have to manually turn on 2D toolpaths each time I recalculate once I've done a preview. Or I could use recalc all toolpaths, but that gets less attractive as the number of toolpaths increases.

Ed
spinningwood
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Taig Mill and Self Built Routers

Re: Balky Rotary Calc

Postby mtylerfl » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:11 am

spinningwood wrote:After some more playing around, it appears that it does recalculate. It just stops showing the toolpath in 2d view when I recalculate after having done a preview. Now I know that I have to manually turn on 2D toolpaths each time I recalculate once I've done a preview. Or I could use recalc all toolpaths, but that gets less attractive as the number of toolpaths increases.

Ed


I observed the same thing, Ed. Seemed to recalc alright, but the 2D view didn't show the toolpath selected as when Recalc All Toolpaths does.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3345
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Balky Rotary Calc

Postby spinningwood » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:15 am

Thanks Michael - I feel better knowing it's not just me. :D

Ed
spinningwood
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Taig Mill and Self Built Routers


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fleming, Google [Bot] and 30 guests