I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on VC

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on VC

Postby Nick.Lumb » Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:51 am

Would anyone be willing to do an Aspire job for me please (for an appropriate fee)? (I have VCarve Pro and Onshape CAD software so I've never needed Aspire before.)

I need an acorn and oak leaf to cut in relief in a round dish.

They should be positioned together similarly to my logo in the top left corner of this page: Image

The acorn and oak leaf style would be fairly realistic as in oak leaves 4b, style b on this page Image

This raises a question I should have thought of earlier: if I bought oak leaves 4b, are the parts likely to be separate so I could manipulate them in VCarve Pro to do the job myself? If not, would anyone be willing to help please?

Many thanks

Nick
Nick.Lumb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:14 am
Location: Wrexham, Wales, UK
Model of CNC Machine: Very solid, home-made running MACH3

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby martin54 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:37 am

Cant see your pictures but to answer your other question, if you bought model 4B then it is all one model so you couldn't easily separate the leaves, the only thing you would be able to do with VCP would be to take the whole model & then only machine a part of it using vector boundaries, you would need to buy something like Trophy mount No1 to get them as seperate components you could manipulate yourself :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3904
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Adrian » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:40 am

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8421
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby martin54 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:46 am



Thanks Adrian :lol: Not sure why I can't see them, did a search on D&M for oak leaves which is how I know 4B would not be suitable lol

Now Adrian has posted the links & I have had a look at your page Nick have a look at Trophy mount No1 which may be suitable for your needs :lol: :lol:

https://store.designandmake.com/shop/product/15295
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3904
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Mike-S » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:17 pm

This?
Attachments
1acorndish.jpg
AcornDish-stl.zip
(383.02 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Nick.Lumb » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:09 pm

Thank you Mike-S

That looks good :-)

Could I have a version where I can move the components around in VCarve please?

Are there any legal issues with me using this in my business (one-man-band designing and making bespoke furniture)?

And what would you like for doing this for me?

Best Regards, Nick
Nick.Lumb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:14 am
Location: Wrexham, Wales, UK
Model of CNC Machine: Very solid, home-made running MACH3

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Mike-S » Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:49 pm

Nick I have Aspire, but IIRC VC only allows one .stl in the design.
Here is just the leaf + acorn. I guess you can make your own dish.
As far as legal--my design; do what you wish with it.
Attachments
LeafAcorn-stl.zip
(318.8 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby scottp55 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:21 am

Stuck it in my Library Mike.
Hope you don't mind?
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Nick.Lumb » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:47 am

Thank you so much Mike :-)

You have certainly stirred up some interest with 15 downloads of your model by the time I saw it!

I am having difficulty even cutting this, not knowing what to do with the top and bottom, let alone putting this in a dish; are we not back to only allowing one .stl file per job in VCarve?

Would you be willing to put the acorn and leaf about 60mm long into a 90mm diameter dish please?

And can I give you anything for this please?

Nick
Nick.Lumb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:14 am
Location: Wrexham, Wales, UK
Model of CNC Machine: Very solid, home-made running MACH3

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby martin54 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:01 pm

Nick, if you purchased Trophy mount No1 from design & Make this would give you the leaf & acorn as separate items, you would then be free to use them in what ever way you wished & wouldn't have to worry about then always being in a dish :lol: :lol: :lol:

You can add as many D&M components as you wish to a vcarve file so no problems there as you have with STL :lol: :lol:

https://store.designandmake.com/shop/product/15295
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3904
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Nick.Lumb » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:24 pm

if you purchased Trophy mount No1 from design & Make this would give you the leaf & acorn as separate items


Thanks for some very useful eduction as to the difference between V3M and STl files in VCarve :D

I had already looked at Trophy mount No1 and although the leaf is ok, I felt the acorn cup is rather unconvincing, at least for this Brit. Maybe it is an Americal species of acorn! I believe there are 600 species of oak worldwide!
Nick.Lumb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:14 am
Location: Wrexham, Wales, UK
Model of CNC Machine: Very solid, home-made running MACH3

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby martin54 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:33 pm

Hey I'm a Brit :lol: :lol:

Live in Scotland but was born in London & grew up in Ewell (Surrey) :lol:

I just don't know that much about trees & wood lol, I got into CNC to be able to cut plastics & composite sheet for signmaking then discovered all the other neat stuff a CNC could do :lol: :lol:

If you use Vcarve then there is no limit on the number of V3M components you can import into a project so you can use any combination of single or project models you want in a single file.
Just remember when you buy the models NOT to select STL as your chosen download method or you will then be limited to one model per vcarve file :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3904
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Nick.Lumb » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:45 pm

Thank you so much Mike :-)

You have certainly stirred up some interest with 15 downloads of your model by the time I saw it!

I am having difficulty even cutting this, not knowing what to do with the top and bottom, let alone putting this in a dish; are we not back to only allowing one .stl file per job in VCarve?

Would you be willing to put the acorn and leaf about 60mm long into a 90mm diameter dish please?

And can I give you anything for this please?

Nick


Given subsequent posts, are you able to give me acorn and leaf as V3M models please?
Nick.Lumb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:14 am
Location: Wrexham, Wales, UK
Model of CNC Machine: Very solid, home-made running MACH3

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Adrian » Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:02 pm

V3M files can't be created by users. They can only be created by Vectric of which Design & Make is a part.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8421
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: I need an Aspire job doing - create job for me to cut on

Postby Mike-S » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:36 pm

I am having difficulty even cutting this, not knowing what to do with the top and bottom, let alone putting this in a dish; are we not back to only allowing one .stl file per job in VCarve?

Would you be willing to put the acorn and leaf about 60mm long into a 90mm diameter dish please?


I'm not sure what you mean by "top and bottom." If it's during import, select the "bottom" button to get a uniform blue color on the model (that moves the model down to be fully inside your block of wood). Darker blue areas indicate to model is being sliced and not completely inside the material. Then click OK.
Since you only have post a few times, I'm guessing you're new to VCP. In the 2D view, select all. You should be able to then re-size with the corner squares to get a 90mm dish.

Anyway, new size dish at 90mm included.
Attachments
AcornleafDish90mm-stl.zip
(108.7 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Next

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 36 guests