Aspire v9.5 is here!

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby AdamJ » Wed Sep 05, 2018 12:38 pm

Hi Tim. Glad you like the update. Here are the additions we made to the GCode post for testing. As with any change to a post-processor, please check the output after making the change to ensure that the post is behaving as you would expect.

Code: Select all
+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output for clockwise helical arc  move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G2[X][Y][Z][I][J]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output for first clockwise helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE
"G2[X][Y][Z][I][J][F]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3[X][Y][Z][I][J]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3[X][Y][Z][I][J][F]"
AdamJ
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: None

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Timvmax » Wed Sep 05, 2018 1:19 pm

Thanks Adam, I didn't read it properly then :-)
I haven't modified a PP for a while, should be fun :-D
Timvmax
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:41 pm
Location: UK

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby lboss » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:51 pm

FYI to any FAGOR users,

If anyone is running a FAGOR controller, you may or may not know that the "Z" will need to be inserted after the incremental "J".
If you try to run it as X Y Z I J you will get an "incomplete coordinates" error.

The order of your posted code should look something like this: G02 X20.5000 Y7.1875 I-3.6875 J0.0000 Z-.750 F250

I'm not sure about other controllers, but this is how it will need to be written to post out correctly for a FAGOR.

See "Z" changes below.

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for clockwise helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G2 [X] [Y] [I] [J] [Z]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for first clockwise helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE
"G2 [X] [Y] [I] [J] [Z] [F]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3 [X] [Y] [I] [J] [Z]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3 [X] [Y] [I] [J] [Z] [F]"
Lynn Boss
User avatar
lboss
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:18 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado
Model of CNC Machine: 4x8 MotionMaster, Patriot, FAGOR Control

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby conifer » Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:58 pm

Iboss, Thanks!

The FAGOR instructions work for the Laguna IQ post also. :D
conifer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:35 am
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby potzmannwoodshop » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:55 pm

Adam M wrote:
Yes, you just need to log into your portal account at portal.vectric.com

Once you have logged in, you can view your downloads and the 9.5 installer will be there.



Quoted you to assure your seeing this.

I have a custom post. Every time I update, 2x now, I have to go back in and re upload it. Can you add migrating the current post processor library?
potzmannwoodshop
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:03 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 2 SCM Routech Record 120s(1999, 2001)

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:49 pm

potzmannwoodshop wrote:Can you add migrating the current post processor library?


By that I presume you mean the "PostP" folder. If so, the migration utility would not only overwrite the one that you modified but every other one that they have modified (wiping out any fixes they might have needed to make). They'd then have people complaining about errors they've already fixed.

I use the "My_PostP" folder to store my updated versions of the post processor I use. That migrates with no problems.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Knothead » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:45 am

Downloaded v9.5 today. Went through the video. Where is the new picture editor? Can't find anything new as described for that and it's mentioned in the video but no description of it at all. Tried to trace a new bitmap but the same v8.5 controls there? What am I missing? Thanks.
Knothead
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:46 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 5 axis

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Knothead » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:56 am

Picture Editor - Duh...found it. New icons "hiding" among the old ones. False alarm. :mrgreen:
Knothead
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:46 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 5 axis

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby 4DThinker » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:57 pm

Trouble with the 9.508 Aspire update. After a certain point the installer pops up a window claiming "Can't delete aspire.exe.", then after I click OK on that window it does a rollback procedure and I'm left with Aspire 9.507. I've done this update with no problems earlier today on my home PC. This is on my office PC at K-State.

Any clues?
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby garylmast » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:04 pm

I don't check for updates every time I use Aspire, so I didn't know about 9.057 and 9.058, but after reading your post, I just did the update with no problems.

Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby gregk » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:15 pm

4DThinker wrote:Trouble with the 9.508 Aspire update. After a certain point the installer pops up a window claiming "Can't delete aspire.exe.", then after I click OK on that window it does a rollback procedure and I'm left with Aspire 9.507. I've done this update with no problems earlier today on my home PC. This is on my office PC at K-State.

Any clues?


Make sure that Aspire is not running. You need to close it before installing the patch.

Greg K
gregk
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: None

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby 4DThinker » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:20 pm

gregk wrote:
4DThinker wrote:Trouble with the 9.508 Aspire update. After a certain point the installer pops up a window claiming "Can't delete aspire.exe.", then after I click OK on that window it does a rollback procedure and I'm left with Aspire 9.507. I've done this update with no problems earlier today on my home PC. This is on my office PC at K-State.

Any clues?


Make sure that Aspire is not running. You need to close it before installing the patch.

Greg K
Done that. Didn't matter. The error message more specifically is: Cannot delete target file: C:\Program Files\Aspire9.5\x64\Aspire.exe Aspire is not running when this pops up.

I thought my antivirus software might be interfering, and so I temporarily terminated it. Tried the update again and it succeeded. So for the moment at least my problem is solved.

4D
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Adrian » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 pm

garylmast wrote:I don't check for updates every time I use Aspire, so I didn't know about 9.057 and 9.058, but after reading your post, I just did the update with no problems.

Gary

It should display in the title bar on the right hand side that an update is available so there's no need to manually check.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8617
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby garylmast » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:33 pm

It should display in the title bar on the right hand side that an update is available so there's no need to manually check.


I knew that, but it needs to be bigger and bolder text, and maybe Red instead of light blue, so it's easier to spot. Or maybe I should clean my glasses more often :shock: :shock: :roll: .

Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby dwilli9013 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:49 pm

I definitely get the glasses thing.... :lol: :lol: :lol: Would be nice if the update came up on a splash screen when you started the software. But that wouldn't help much if you are not online for an extended period.
I actually did not know 9.508 was out until last night when I seen it on the forum. :shock: :lol: :lol:
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

PreviousNext

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kubic and 34 guests