Aspire v9.5 is here!

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby avp » Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:55 pm

I tried updating my PP with the changes for the helical are moves but the gcode is still a large file. Maybe I am missing something.
Bill
avp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home built 5x8

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Adrian » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:09 pm

avp wrote:I tried updating my PP with the changes for the helical are moves but the gcode is still a large file. Maybe I am missing something.
Bill

Does the job have toolpaths that would benefit?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8606
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby RhoTu » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:20 pm

Haven't upgraded to 9.5 yet so want to know if there is a post processor that works with Mach4 yet (Mach4 uses one of the Fanuc standards and is different than Mach3) and whether you can specifiy the rotary drive as 'C' rather than X,Y,Z,A?

TIA

RT
RhoTu
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:12 pm

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby ger21 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:10 pm

Any Mach3 code from Vectric software should run fine in Mach4. It's not much different, accept for some canned cycles, which Vectric doesn't use anyway.

You can easily modify the post to swap the C axis for the A axis.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby avp » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:45 pm

Yes, the job has spiral ramps which I use a lot.
Bill
avp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home built 5x8

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby avp » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:47 pm

I can see the new g-code in the file but it seems that the old code is still in the file.
Bill
avp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home built 5x8

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby rawand » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:28 am

I am so happy to see this latest version!
http://www.soran.edu.iq
rawand
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:50 am
Model of CNC Machine: Map LPZ1000

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby 4DThinker » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:59 am

9.511 and so far I've only had one unexpected error where the drawing menu disappeared and couldn't be found until Aspire was closed and restarted. That and some odd behaviour in the pocket toolpath where Aspire changed my "t" variable from the .75" it should have been to 3.5", and kept insisting my bit wouldn't fit using the selected vectors and as such wouldn't not generate the toolpaths.

So far I can't get the above flaws to repeat, but Im gonna say it is always a little adventure to see what is "new" with each update. ;)
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby 4DThinker » Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:44 pm

9.511 crashed on me again today. Same results.... the drawing panel completely disappeared. The keyboard shortcuts for the drawing/editing commands also stopped responding.

I'd love to tell you what I was doing in the software to make it crash but other than I had drawn a circle, used the offset tool, drawn another small circle and used the circular array tool, was trying to group the array of circles so I could then center it in another shape but then the software threw up an error and the drawing panel went blank.

4D
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:54 pm

What version of Windows are you running?

Are you sending the crash dump files to Vectric Support?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby 4DThinker » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:28 pm

The machine I was using that Aspire crashed on is running Windows 7 I believe. I'll check to make sure when I'm at work tomorrow.
Aspire 9.511 also just crashed on me at home on my win10 machine. I'd just made the circular array of small circles when the error popped up.

The error is: Encountered an improper argument.
Aspire Crash 4D.jpg


Aspire doesn't completely crash, but rather throws up an error then makes the drawing menu disappear.
Closing the current file then starting a new one puts the drawing menu back. If I hit a keyboard shortcut (R, M, etc.) the close it the drawing menu returns. At work I couldn't get any keyboard shortcuts to respond when Aspire crashed there doing the same processes. I'm suspecting the crash happens when the circular array tool is closed.
No, I haven't sent anything to vectric about this flaw.

4D
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby StuC » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:37 am

Hi 4DThinker,

Thanks for the reports, and you are correct that the improper argument error appears after closing the circular copy tool. This has already been fixed and will be included in the next patch. As you have found a workaround to get the drawing tab back is to use a shortcut key such as 'T' to open a form in the drawing tab and then close this, this should restore the tab in every case but an alternative would be to click the 'Switch To Design Commands' button on the toolpath tab which should do the same thing. This shouldn't have any effect on the results of the circular copy. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Stu
StuC
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:18 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby sebashtionh » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:42 am

Question Hope this is in the correct place.
i am running 8.5 if I upgrade to the now 9.5 do i get the half point upgrade to 10 for free when released like i did with 8 to 8.5?
sebashtionh
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:09 am
Location: Florida
Model of CNC Machine: pilot pro 2642

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby ger21 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:45 am

No.
You get the .0 to .5, but not the .5 to .0
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Aspire v9.5 is here!

Postby SteveNelson46 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:24 pm

This was copied from the Vectric store webpage.

If you purchase any new product, you are entitled to receive updates free of charge for a period of 12 months.

If you upgrade from a previous version, you are entitled to receive updates free of charge for a period of 3 months.

If you upgrade from version 8 to version 9 you will have a 3 month grace period. Interim versions are always free.
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1, Carvewright

PreviousNext

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gkas and 28 guests