Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi,
I have upgraded to a decent PC (hopefully) but when I hit "calculate toolpath" it still takes ages.
I've checked task manager to see whether I'm low on resources and during very detailed toolpath calculation (object 200 mm in diameter with 0,5mm tool and 7% step) I don't see any significant peaks.

What needs to be "good" on the PC to calculate the toolpaths faster?

Thanks
Attachments
aspire resources.PNG
screen from mid calculation
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby Adrian » Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:32 pm

How long is ages and what sort of toolpath is it? If there's no copyrighted material involved you could attach your file so it can be checked to make sure there aren't any errors etc. Excessive toolpath calculation can often be a sign of problems with the vectors.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8227
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby ger21 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:01 pm

If you right click on the CPU graph, and select "Change Graph to Logical Cores", you'll probably see that 1 core is doing all the work, because Aspire is not multithreaded.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:03 pm

Ages is more than 40 minutes.
When I did the post about this, it was in about 40% and now it is at about 90% calculated (my estimate by the yellow bar on bottom). And now is 30 minutes later.
I think I can rule out vector issues as object is 24 closed vectors.
Each is made into a simple round object.
Final stacked model I made into a single component.
I made a subtraction and added a zero plane as it will be a mold.
Total height is less than 10mm.

btw I still have Aspire 8.5
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:03 pm

ger21 wrote:If you right click on the CPU graph, and select "Change Graph to Logical Cores", you'll probably see that 1 core is doing all the work, because Aspire is not multithreaded.



nope :(
Attachments
aspire resources2.PNG
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby martin54 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:10 pm

Are you running the 32 bit or 64 bit version of the software, what ram do you have fitted & what graphics card, how much free space have you on the HDD all these things make a difference :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3797
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:15 pm

I'd ask myself: do I really need a step-over of 0.035mm (i.e. about half to a third of the diameter of a human hair)?

At that resolution you are calculating 5,714 raster passes (half that for an offset toolpath).
Last edited by adze_cnc on Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:17 pm

martin54 wrote:Are you running the 32 bit or 64 bit version of the software, what ram do you have fitted & what graphics card, how much free space have you on the HDD all these things make a difference :lol: :lol:


Aspire is 64 bit,
graphics card is few years old but as you can see on screens it's not even sweating during the computing.
Ram is Corsair 16GB KIT DDR4 SDRAM 3000MHz CL15 Vengeance
I have aspire on SSD with 50 GB free.

other details can be seen on screens.
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:21 pm

adze_cnc wrote:I'd ask myself: do I really need a step-over of 0.035mm (i.e. about half to a third of the diameter of a human hair)?

At that resolution you are calculating 5,714 raster passes (half that for an offset toolpath).



appreciate the feedback but that does not add to the explanation for the question.
just for info: If I use a small bit and have big stepover, lines are visible.
If I use bigger bit tool it will not get the details
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby Adrian » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:27 pm

Just setup a file that I think matches what you're describing and it calculated in about a minute on my PC which is less powerful than yours. Really need to see the actual file to know what's going on.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8227
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby dealguy11 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:38 pm

I agree with Adrian - there's something odd with your file. I tried setting up a similar sized model with a .41mm (1/64") bit at 7% stepover on a much lower spec'd machine and came in around 5 minutes. I'm also struggling with amount of detail you're needing. I also set up this model with a 1/16" bit (1.59mm) and the difference in visible detail was barely noticeable. From more than a meter away I would not be able to see it.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:58 am

dealguy11 wrote:I agree with Adrian - there's something odd with your file. I tried setting up a similar sized model with a .41mm (1/64") bit at 7% stepover on a much lower spec'd machine and came in around 5 minutes. I'm also struggling with amount of detail you're needing. I also set up this model with a 1/16" bit (1.59mm) and the difference in visible detail was barely noticeable. From more than a meter away I would not be able to see it.


I make small models that you don't observe from meter away but when you hold it in your hands.
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Toolpath calculation recomended PC HW

Postby MrYuri » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:00 am

Adrian wrote:Just setup a file that I think matches what you're describing and it calculated in about a minute on my PC which is less powerful than yours. Really need to see the actual file to know what's going on.


will post it later on
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests