rotary index aspire

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
PATRICKCUES
Model of CNC Machine: LAGUNA IQ

rotary index aspire

Post by PATRICKCUES »

Hello
I am very new to this. I am trying to figure how to cut a pocket and then automatically rotate the part and cut another pocket .. I custom build pool cues and this is for doing inlay work

Thank you in advance !

4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro, Probotix Meteor 25" x 50"

Re: rotary index aspire

Post by 4DThinker »

I haven't found an easy way to do it using aspire, but if you can enter g-code commands in your controller software then all you need to do between cuts is type in G0A90, then re-zero A. Use whatever angle of rotation you want instead of 90. You could insert the line in your G-code file if your don't want to make separate file for each pocket.

Vectric's software could benefit from a clever way to drop in A axis command within regular XYZ post processor file. JMHO

4D

Leo
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made

Post by Leo »

It sounds like you want to rotate to a particular rotation angle, then use X & Y & Z to cut a pocket. That is a perfectly normal process using a rotary axis.
IF - your controller has a separate drive for the "A" or rotary axis - then you can do it.

Normally in the world we are in here the rotary axis is used with what is called axis swapping. That means unplugging one of your axis motions - say "X" and plugging in the rotary axis. That way all you "X" axis commands will go to the rotary. You will not have "X" per se to work with.

I suppose you "could" do it with the wrapping feature and a flat bottom end mill, but that is a little bit odd, at least to me.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind, combined with the functionality of CNC

IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Controller Upgrades

Post by IslaWW »

4D..