Help with Tabs on 2 sided cutting

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
tjop92

Help with Tabs on 2 sided cutting

Post by tjop92 »

Hello,

I am completely new to the software and have been trying to figure out how to get the two sided cutting set up for the attached slices. I am having an issue with getting tabs set up that don't get cut away. I am trying to get both sides machined so the finished product can have as much detail as possible. My concern is that the piece will get fully cut out and no longer be held in place. Is anyone able to help me or show me how to do this?

I sliced the model into .75" thick slices, which is my material thickness. If I want both sides machined what should I set my over cut depth to?

Here is a link to the slices.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1uaSBos ... zAXQh/view

Any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ

Re: Help with Tabs on 2 sided cutting

Post by ohiolyons »

I've never sliced anything before, but several questions come to mind.

1 did you watch the tutorial on slicing?

2 did you watch the tutorial on double sided machining?

3 are you using 3 d tabs?
John Lyons
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

tjop92

Post by tjop92 »

I should clarify. I sliced the 3D model before importing it into Aspire. That way it was the exact thickness I needed. So no slicing was done in Aspire.

1) I did watch the tutorial on slicing, but found it wouldn't work for what I was doing, so I sliced the model pre-import into Aspire so that I could just do a two sided machining operation.

2) I did watch the tutorial on double sided machining and followed it to get my model set up, but when I try to set up the tabs it just cuts right through them. Where in the tutorial it does not cut them out.

3) Yes, just like in the tutorial I am using a 3D tab from the clip art selection to create it.

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard

Post by ohiolyons »

4 zero/limit plane?