Divide an area and separate vectors

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Keith Larrett » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:42 pm

I run into this issue often and never seem to have an elegant solution to it. I was hoping someone might have a good idea as to how to deal with it.

I need to cut out the top and bottom plate for a curved knee wall. The plates will not fit onto a 4x8 sheet of plywood, so I want to divide the arc into three equal arcs and then nest them on a sheet of plywood. So I have my arc drawn as well as the two lines dividing the large arc into three equal arcs. The problem is the lines that divide the arc actually need to be two lines, one for the edge of one arc and one for the edge of the arc next two it. So when I break out the snipping tool I have to do all sorts of cut and paste to duplicate those vectors and end up with three separate arcs that I can nest.

Is there an easy solution that I'm not seeing?

Thanks
Attachments
knee wall.JPG
https://www.syzygywoodworks.com

https://www.facebook.com/SyzygyWoodworks
Keith Larrett
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:44 am
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby dealguy11 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:20 pm

Easiest way I can think of is to copy all the vectors to 3 different layers, one for each of the pieces you're making. Then you can just easily bring up each layer in turn and snip away the stuff you don't need for that part.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby LittleGreyMan » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:27 pm

In such cases, I use Steve's method except I duplicate to a total of 4 layers, and I keep one unchanged as a reference. So if I realize I have to change something, I delete the copies, modify the reference and restart the process. Otherwise, the original design is lost.
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Adrian » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:49 pm

The way I would do it is to use node editing. In node edit point to where an angle line and the curve meet and press C to cut the vector. Repeat on the outer/inner intersection. That will give you two open ended curved sections. Select one and use the Join with Straight Line tool (click the icon or choose it from the right click menu). Repeat on the other section and then repeat those steps for the other intersection.

One of those that takes longer to write about than actually do.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7405
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Keith Larrett » Fri Oct 27, 2017 9:55 am

Thank you for the replies and ideas.

I will experiment with them and I'm sure I will be able to get the job done quicker and easier than the way I'm doing it now.

Your help is much appreciated.
https://www.syzygywoodworks.com

https://www.facebook.com/SyzygyWoodworks
Keith Larrett
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:44 am
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Martin Reid » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:21 am

Dear Keith (and others watching)

Here is my two-penneth - click images to enlarge

We use this a lot for our curved seating

Example Layout.png
Example Layout

(01) Firstly Steve and LGM are correct 'make copies' But see (03)
Node Edit then Copy.png
Node Edit then Copy

(02) When you use the trim vectors tool there is a tendency for the 'curved vector' to 'spring' off line. This is only a small amount and may not be an issue. But if it is an issue (03)
Trim Moved.png
Trim Moved

(03) Use Node Edit - Zoom in on the intersection of the lines to be trimmed and insert a node on the intersection particularly on the curved line - but I do it on both.
ZoomIn Insert Node.png
Zoom-in Insert Node

(03a) Occasionally the inserted node 'moves off' the intersection and you need to insert an other
ZoomIn Insert Node Double.png
Zoom-in Insert Double Node

(04) Only when I've inserted all the nodes I require do I 'make copies' and start trimming

Anyway that’s how I do it

Sincerely and in good faith
Martin
User avatar
Martin Reid
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:00 pm
Location: Lancashire UK
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Adrian » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:57 am

Why insert nodes and trim? You can cut by hovering with no need to use the trim tool or insert nodes.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7405
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Divide an area and separate vectors

Postby Martin Reid » Fri Oct 27, 2017 1:36 pm

Adrian wrote:Why insert nodes and trim? You can cut by hovering with no need to use the trim tool or insert nodes.


Adrian

Point taken... Force of habit.... and I like to let the trim vectors tool rejoin the trimmed sections.

In good faith
Martin
User avatar
Martin Reid
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:00 pm
Location: Lancashire UK
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests