Is machined area color busted?

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Is machined area color busted?

Postby fredfow3 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:52 am

Hey all,

Is it me doing something wrong, but "machined area color" will only show up as the material color. I can not seem to get anything else. Am I missing a trick?

Aspire 9.010

TIA,

Fred
fredfow3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:40 am
Location: Massachusetts
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Swift 4x4, Shapeoko S3 XL

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby martin54 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:10 pm

seems to be working OK for me Fred, global & toolpath colour, don't know if you have missed a setting somewhere but if it wasn't working then I would have thought there would be a lot more posts about it, 9.010 has been the latest version since August 16th :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby Adrian » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:29 pm

There have been a couple of posts about it but, like Martin, I could never replicate it. It might be only affecting certain setups or requires a certain combination of events.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby FixitMike » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:02 pm

I had this problem and contacted Vectric. Here's their answer:

"Hello Michael.

Is this an older file that you opened in the latest version by any chance.

This was an issue in an older version of V9.0 that has since been resolved.
In this file it should work if you recalculate all toolpaths to renew the colour data and then reset the toolpath preview and re run it for the expected results.

I hope this helps

Best Regards
Charlotte"
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby highpockets » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:32 pm

In Aspire 9.x I've given up trying to figure out the color and material setting. I never know what is going to display the first time I run Preview Toolpath. Even after setting it to what I want sometimes when I make changes to a toolpath and rerun Preview it reverts back to old unwanted settings. Yes it's a pain, but not something I can't live with.....
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby fredfow3 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:24 pm

highpockets wrote:In Aspire 9.x I've given up trying to figure out the color and material setting. I never know what is going to display the first time I run Preview Toolpath. Even after setting it to what I want sometimes when I make changes to a toolpath and rerun Preview it reverts back to old unwanted settings. Yes it's a pain, but not something I can't live with.....


Yah, it seems to have a mind of it's own. As you said, it's not a game changer.

Fred
fredfow3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:40 am
Location: Massachusetts
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Swift 4x4, Shapeoko S3 XL

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby AlbertaClipper » Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:37 am

highpockets wrote:In Aspire 9.x I've given up trying to figure out the color and material setting. I never know what is going to display the first time I run Preview Toolpath. Even after setting it to what I want sometimes when I make changes to a toolpath and rerun Preview it reverts back to old unwanted settings. Yes it's a pain, but not something I can't live with.....


+1
AlbertaClipper
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:47 am
Location: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby flying_flip » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:44 pm

Try 2-Sided Machining and put 2 different "Woods" on each side... ;)
I have had All sorts of strangeness with the most recent update.

Phil
flying_flip
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:38 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX / VCarve Desktop

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby joeporter » Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:51 pm

Mine only shows material color, but will show a toolpath color...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: Is machined area color busted?

Postby mohamed » Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:23 pm

9.011 is now released and should address this issue.

If your problems still persist, or discover other issues, please try to report them to us so we can fix them.

Please don't give up on us :)

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 4DThinker and 13 guests