Diamond drag bit setup

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Diamond drag bit setup

Postby robertf » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:41 pm

Just bought a diamond drag bit, need help on how to put it in tool list & how to set up the tool path

Any help out there?
robertf
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:55 am

Re: Diamond drag bit setup

Postby FixitMike » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Use the Quick Engraving toolpath. I set the depth/pressure at 25% to 50% of the total travel available in the tool. However, I've done some testing, and on acryllic, it makes very little difference. Fill stepover does affect the result. I use .005" to .012" depending upon the size of the picture.

In the Tool Database Tool list, you find Engraving way down the list. There is a diamond drag tool listed. The Geometry and Cutting Parameters entries affect only the preview, they do not change what the machine does. (See the toolpath description in Help, Help Contents.) Spindle speed should of course be zero (Turn off or unplug the router.).

I find the Quick Engraving toolpath preview to be very poor. If I want to get an idea of what the result will look like, I use a VCarve toolpath for the preview.
If the panel is to be edge lit, be sure to mirror your scene and cut it on the back side. Otherwise you will get a reflection from the back that makes you see double.

Here's my post on the test I made to check out different pressure/depth setting and stepover with a diamond drag tool. The lower squares are brighter because they are closer to the LEDs.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=26050&p=186657&hilit=diamond#p186657

These test squares are 1/2" square. Total available depth of travel for the tool was1/2"
Drag tool test (2).JPG

The example below was cut with a VCarve toolpath, 90 degree V bit, .03 flat depth, .005 stepover, before I got my diamond drag bit.
Attachments
Cthultha (Small) (2016_04_03 23_57_58 UTC).jpg
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Diamond drag bit setup

Postby martin54 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:23 pm

Mike has pretty much covered it but also try a search on the forum, lots of posts & useful info which should give you everything you need to know :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Diamond drag bit setup

Postby robertf » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:56 am

Ok I found the diamond drag tool under specialist. When I click it there are no specs for it.
Does not appear to be a useable tool. Can I put in the parameters & how do I do it?
I'm on Aspire 9.01, Do I have a problem there ??
robertf
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:55 am

Re: Diamond drag bit setup

Postby robertf » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:38 am

I got it figured out Thanks for the help !!!!
robertf
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:55 am


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests