HELP WITH MODELS

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:16 pm

Hi All,

I have been using Aspire for some time now and have recently started having an issue. (Latest V9)

When I import STL files and try to create a 3D finishing toolpath using an 1/8" ball nose all I see is a series of vertical lines in the preview.
This was happening on all different models so I decided to go back to basics and use a Vectric supplied piece of clipart. Although the issue is still evident it's nowhere near as bad. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong......problem is I don't know what. In the past these type of jobs have processed without issue.

Any suggestions gratefully received.

CROC.JPG
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby dwilli9013 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:19 pm

Check your simulation quality setting.
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:30 pm

THANKS,

I went from very high to standard and it's now as seen in the pic below.

CROC2.JPG
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby highpockets » Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:21 pm

It may be time to contact support.... Even setting step over to 99% I couldn't get as bad as your picture....

Image 031.png
1/8" ball nose 99% step over

Image 032.png
1/8" end mill 99% step over
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:53 pm

Hi John,

Yeah I have sent them an Email. I had run lot's of models with V8.5 with this issue never occurring.

Will see what they say.
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby highpockets » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:14 am

I'll be watching for their response.

I'm thinking a reinstall is in your future....

You didn't by any chance change your graphics card?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:18 am

Hi John,

Thinking along the same lines as a reinstall. I've looked at the graphic settings and altered them to performance from quality with no change.

No I haven't altered any hardware.

I will see what response I get from support before I do a reinstall.

THANKS for your responses and I like your train of thought. (All logical stuff)
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby Rcnewcomb » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:32 am

Are you using a zero plane? If not that might help. Your issue looks similar to this one discussed in this thread: Rough Edges
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:34 am

Yep I have Randall.
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby highpockets » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:55 am

I ran it with out a zero plane with no problems.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby dealguy11 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:24 pm

The issue in your first picture (forget about the later ones at lower resolution - that's just muddying the core issue) is something I normally see when there's a problem with how two models are interacting with each other - in this case the dish and the alligator. So, some questions:

1. I assume the bowl is the stl model since the alligator is a standard Vectric model?
2. Did you try using one of the domes/bowls that comes with Aspire rather than an stl model?
3. Did you somehow cut the alligator out of the bowl rather than just doing a merge? This can cause the jaggies you're seeing if there are tiny gaps between the 2 models. If you have a zero plane, then what you're seeing is the zero plane filling in the tiny gap at the level of the plane.
3. What is the combine mode of the two models? What order are they in in the model list?
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:04 pm

Hi Steve,

THANKS for youe reply. The model was stock Vectric clipart including the bowl. I have just now loaded the crocodile clipart without the bowl and that is also corrupt in the toolpath view. This is happening on ALL models.

I am starting to think the software is corrupt and it's time to reload it. My reply from Vecric thus far has not shed any light. They asked me to send them the file and I have reiterated it is one of the stock clipart files within Aspire. Awaiting next response from them.
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby dealguy11 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:21 pm

I suppose it can't hurt to reload the software. I've never heard of it becoming corrupted in this way, but who knows?

I tried to recreate your problem this afternoon and didn't come up with anything that looked like it. To ask a few more questions, does this show up if you do the following and NO MORE:

Create a new file at a reasonable size (say 10" x 10") at standard resolution on the setup page. Doesn't matter if you set zero on top or bottom.
Pull in the dish or create it, either way.
Pull in the alligator and position it in the dish. Don't bother with a zero plane for this.
Set the combine modes of both to "Add"
Create a vector just around the dish
Set the model to the top of the block in the Material Setup dialog under the Toolpath tab
Create a 3d finishing toolpath with a 1/8" ballnose using the vector as the machining limit boundary
Preview

What does it look like?
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby hooked » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:08 am

Guys,

Firstly THANKS for all your responses in helping me find a solution or cause to my issue.

I reloaded the software and had the same result. I then decided to thoroughly look at all my settings.

I then found the issue. A cross use of imperial and metric units. The diameter of my tool was set as imperial with the units in metric.

Check out the tool diameter in the image below.

Capture.JPG
User avatar
hooked
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Paradise Beach - Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SCRATCH BUILT CNC ROUTER

Re: HELP WITH MODELS

Postby highpockets » Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:23 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: It's all about the details......

Glad you found the problem....
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JNC and 12 guests