adding a knot to wood grain

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

adding a knot to wood grain

Postby redwood » Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:06 am

I have a sign that I'm using a non tilable wood grain texture to. I would like to add some knots, any ideas of how to do that?

Taberna5.jpg
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby highpockets » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:40 am

How are you applying the wood grain texture?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby redwood » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:52 am

It's a non tilable texture that comes with Aspire. It uses a 3D finishing tool path. The sign is a replica of a Tavern sign in Portugal.
If need be, I'll just try and find a board with knots already, but it would be interesting if anyone had a idea how to do it.
Here is the original sign.

Taberna.jpg
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby Mike-S » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:24 pm

Try playing with the Sculpting tool. Smooth an area and then Deposit new grain lines around your knot.
Attachments
Taberna5a.jpg
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby highpockets » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:41 pm

Mike sort of beat me to it :D :D :D As alternative to sculpting, you might Google wood knot images, pick one you like, import the image as a component and merge it with your existing texture.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby Mike-S » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:04 pm

Highpockets, we're thinking alike. I gave the merge a try first, but kept getting the original grain intermingling with the new knot--just didn't look right. Also tried "Distorting" the original grain, but that was a disaster.
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby redwood » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:41 pm

Thanks for the ideas. I hadn't given sculpting a thought. I'm pretty amateur in using a lot of the modeling tools, but I'll give it a shot.
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby highpockets » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:50 pm

Mike,

Just noodling around a bit, the know on the left is the original, I did a rough cut out then rotated it 90° (just for contrast on the test), removed some of the edge to taper it a bit (sure wish there was a fade you could apply all the way around a component). Flattened it out quite a bit, merged it with the original and played with the base height a bit.
This is the kind of thing you could spend hours noodling around with :D :D :D :D

Image 4.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby Mike-S » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:46 pm

sure wish there was a fade you could apply all the way around a component

Possibly the "Multiply" function. Look at Vectric's tutorial on that.
Attachments
multi.jpg
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: adding a knot to wood grain

Postby highpockets » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:19 pm

Mike, I've yet to figure out the Multiply option.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ElevationCreations, ger21 and 14 guests