Copy toolpath

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Copy toolpath

Postby mwhite » Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:56 pm

Now that Aspire has Double Sided capability, is there an option to copy toolpaths to the other side. I have no problem copying vectors, but I do not see an option for toolpaths?
mwhite
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY

Re: Copy toolpath

Postby IslaWW » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:41 pm

Move the vectors to the other side, swap to view the other side, recalculate the toolpaths
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Copy toolpath

Postby highpockets » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:56 pm

Gary,

Please teach me, I tried creating a vector on front side and creating a toolpath for it. I then moved the vector to the bottom side. No toolpaths were visible in the bottom side toolpath tray.
The only way I've been able to move a toolpath is using the Save and Load toolpath option.

What am I missing?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Copy toolpath

Postby mwhite » Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:06 pm

I tried it multiple times but still have had no luck. The only toolpath to recalculate is the original on side one. Recalculating this does not create a toolpath for the bottom side vectors.
mwhite
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY

Re: Copy toolpath

Postby IslaWW » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:23 am

John...
I stand corrected. The toolpath does recalculate to the correct location, but does NOT move the toolpath to the other side with the vector. I do not believe this would be the expected behavior, but I will find out what the powers that be have to say about this.

I would say for now, that you should delete any toolpaths associated to vectors that are moved to the other side of the material. Once the vectors are moved, then generate a new toolpath.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Copy toolpath

Postby highpockets » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:49 am

Thanks Gary,

Thought I was missing an easy way to move toolpaths. For now I'll continue to us Save/Load toolpaths. Would be a nice feature for a new release if you the option to move the toolpath associated with the vectors being moved.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gregory Stark and 17 guests