V9 install/run problem

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

V9 install/run problem

Postby wcarrothers » Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:44 pm

V9 installed on my lap top and ran no problem (XP pro SP3)


But installing on one of my older machine controller computers which is on XP pro SP2 i get an error when opening up the application

Entry point not found GetLocicalProcessorInformation could not be located in dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll

Just to note the application didn't display anything after install with the launch aspire checked.

And last, same error after 9.009 patch installed..

Hopefully there isn't an absolout need to install SP3 on my CNC machine box, as I prefer not to fuss them to much after operating for years.

b.
wcarrothers
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:20 am
Location: Michigan

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby BrianM » Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:51 pm

Hello William,

The stated minimum requirement for Vectric products on XP for many years has been that service pack 3 is required. The later Microsoft compilers used to build V9 introduce a dependency that enforces this requirement as you have seen.

The minimum requirements for all our products can be found here ...

http://support.vectric.com/aspire-quest ... n-software


Brian
Brian Moran
Managing Director
Vectric Ltd.
User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Redditch U.K

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby wcarrothers » Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:58 pm

Thanks..

Been on vectric so long with the 2 PC's didn't think it would get me this time..

I'll SP3 it and see what it does.

b.
wcarrothers
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:20 am
Location: Michigan

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby Mike-S » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:32 pm

Same problem here.
Any idea how to get SP3 into a non-connected PC?
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby wcarrothers » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:00 pm

I'm looking for my SP3 install pack but of course harder to find due to MS not supporting it. Of course I had it at some point seeing at least one of my machines is SP3..

I'm sure I have a directory on some backup HD of mine that says SP3 or a cd of it some where, but search continues..

b.
wcarrothers
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:20 am
Location: Michigan

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby highpockets » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:01 pm

Here are two links that may help.
https://windows-xp-service-pack-3.en.softonic.com/
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... ice-pack-3

Mike, download SP3 to a connected computer and put the file on a thumb drive (memory stick).
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby Mike-S » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:03 pm

Thanks, John, very helpful. I thought I was going to be locked out of V9.
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby JeffreySgroiDesigns » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:49 pm

Anybody have XP Service Pack 3 upgrade file? Or how do I get one?
Last edited by JeffreySgroiDesigns on Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JeffreySgroiDesigns
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Sale CNC

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby Adrian » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:52 pm

JeffreySgroiDesigns wrote:Anybody have XP Service Pack 3 upgrade file?

The links are in Johns (Highpockets) post a couple above.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8607
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby JeffreySgroiDesigns » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:20 pm

I tried those. I just can't seem to start a download from them!
JeffreySgroiDesigns
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Sale CNC

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby Adrian » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:40 pm

Try here - http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com ... q=xp%20sp3

Looks like Microsoft have removed the other download links which is not surprising seeing how old XP is now. Won't be long before nothing will work with it.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8607
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby JeffreySgroiDesigns » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:50 pm

Thank you!!! I will try this and let you know!!!!
JeffreySgroiDesigns
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Sale CNC

Re: V9 install/run problem

Postby SteveNelson46 » Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:33 pm

Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1, Carvewright


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests