2.5 D Machining

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Soapyjoe » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:01 am

With quite a bit of help I have made the component I wanted using the moulding toolpath as suggested yesterday by several helpful members
Now I wish to make a batch of them.
Initially I want 12 of the components and can get these parts on to one sheet that I can machine but the moulding tool path does not seem to like all these individual items.
With a bit of wangling I can cut three at a time by running the toolpath through all three in one row but I seem to be stuck in getting the tool path to cut more than one row on the sheet.
If that's as good as it comes I am happy to do four lots of three.
Any ideas?
Soapyjoe
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: Heiz

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Soapyjoe » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:10 am

Moulding Toolpaths..... can I cut out multiple copies on one sheet of wood of a component that uses a moulding toolpath.... I wish to make 12 copies with a 4 by 3 layout
Soapyjoe
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: Heiz

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Adrian » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:23 am

You can use the new Array Copy Toolpath feature to do that. Last icon on the second from bottom row under Toolpath Operations.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7405
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Soapyjoe » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:00 pm

Thanks Adrian,
Does this feature work in 8.5?
Row of Three.jpg
Soapyjoe
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: Heiz

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Adrian » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:34 pm

No, it's new to v9.

In 8.5 you would need to create multiple toolpaths as you can't use the automatic Vector Selection features with a moulding toolpath.

Depending on your control software you might be able to do it there as well. You certainly can with the ShopBot software but I don't know about others.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7405
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Soapyjoe » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:25 pm

Thanks Adrian,

Its great to get good advice
Soapyjoe
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: Heiz

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby martin54 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:47 am

One thing to remember is that the moulding toolpath doesn't actually create a component, you could create one using the modeling tools but then you would need to change your toolpath strategy & as has probably already been said that will most likely increase your machining time. :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby ChiloquinRuss » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:50 am

OK, as much as I love my Bot and Aspire . . . . .

The piece is square on 3 sides right?

I have a really cool table saw that can handle any number of pieces quickly and an infinite number of angles!

Just sayin' yuall! :mrgreen: Russ
AKA: The Train Guy!
User avatar
ChiloquinRuss
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:58 am
Location: Chiloquin, Oregon
Model of CNC Machine: 2008 48x96 ShopBot spindle and Aspire

Re: 2.5 D Machining

Postby Soapyjoe » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:29 am

Six Up.jpg
Six Up
Hi Everybody,

With a bit of thought I have managed to produce any number of rows of components
Just profile out say three row of component, in one go ..... then run the moulding toolpath three times.... it seems to work O.K.
Soapyjoe
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: Heiz

Previous

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], grd750, Robert L and 12 guests