rest Machining problem?

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

rest Machining problem?

Postby redwood » Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:33 am

In Aspire version 9, After I run my toolpath preview, I go to the Model menu, choose create component and the only item under the sub menu that is not grayed out is create component from visible model. Create component from toolpath preview is grayed out. Any ideas?
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6

Re: rest Machining problem?

Postby highpockets » Sun Jul 30, 2017 4:28 am

Just tried it on my Aspire v9.008. I can't figure out what to do to get "Create Component from Toolpath preview" grayed out. Even without a preview it's not grayed out.

OK, if I start a new file and don't have a model loaded I get a gray "Create Component from Toolpath preview". Loaded model, still grayed out.
As soon as I create a Finish toolpath, even before previewing, I get the "Create Component from Toolpath preview" option. And it works.

Whoops! It doesn't produce a Component until previewing the toolpath.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: rest Machining problem?

Postby Adrian » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:07 pm

Works fine for me in V9. What type of toolpaths are you using etc?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7407
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: rest Machining problem?

Postby John Murphy » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:43 pm

I don't mean to hijack the thread, or go to far off topic, but....
I was kind of hoping that the latest version update would have included a new "Rest Machining" element. I know we can basically achieve something like "pencil passes" or "Clean out Passes", but it would sure be nice to have this process stream lined by being able to choose the primary tool and a pencil pass or clean up tool. These options where available in other cad/cam programs 20 years ago.

John
John Murphy
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Maryhill Ontario Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ

Re: rest Machining problem?

Postby redwood » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:49 pm

I used a roughing pass and a finish pass, but never mind, I just reopened the file and now it works.
redwood
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:38 am
Location: No. Calif.
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro6


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests