V9 Two Sided Model

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

V9 Two Sided Model

Postby joeporter » Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:59 pm

I have V9 Aspire. I am trying to use the new double sided feature. It seems that the tutorials focus on machining. I have done several projects using the old practice of double sided machining successfully.
Now, I want to do 3D modeling, like a bowl shape, using the new double sided features of V9. So far, I haven't been really successful. Is there a tutorial in the works about bowl shaped modeling? I am thinking about something along the lines of the "Rag or Cloth Bowl" that was done recently.
I have studied the tutorials and read the manual as far as what I think is applicable to my project but am not really getting the outcomes I want.
Does anyone have any guidance or suggestions? Thanks for any help...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby Fleming » Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:54 pm

Joe,

Brief summary for that process:

1. Set up for a two-sided model
2. Create a circle and make a bowl recess shape of it - use create shape and Combine mode of Subtract.
3. Copy that object to the 2nd side.
4. Go to 2nd side. Use Offset Model tool to expand the object the amount you want for thickness of the sides - say .25"
5. Set that model to Add.

Paul
Fleming
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby joeporter » Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:58 pm

OK, Paul, thanks for the reply. I will try that...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby highpockets » Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:04 pm

Paul is faster then I am :D :D :D :D

Here's my approach using the Dome_Dish_60 model.

A bowl is dealing with a positive and negative it takes a bit more thought and planning. Since you've created bowls using Aspire prior to the double sided feature you should have much trouble, it's the same thought process made easier.
The outside of the Dish model needs to be "X" size bigger in the XY as well as "X" higher than the inside Dish model.

bowl.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby joeporter » Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:01 pm

Thanks, John, I think I will stay up all night studying until it dawns on me...joe :)
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby highpockets » Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:21 pm

Joe,

If the file for the bowl in the picture would help PM me your email address and I'll send it to you. It's too big to upload to the board, even zipped.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby joeporter » Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:50 pm

Thanks, John. Based on your and Paul's advice, I am working on a new and more direct strategy. Hopefully I will have some success with this. I will let you know how it works out...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: V9 Two Sided Model

Postby dbrook » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:43 pm

I must be missing something when I attempt to develop a two sided model using V9 trial version following Fleming/Paul's steps above. Everything works properly following steps 1 through 4. When right click on the offset model component under Level 1 and change the check mark from the "merge to the highest .." to add as indicated in step 5, the generated model has the recess on side one with a rounded rim and side 2 is a flat surface (File attached). If I leave the check mark in merge to the highest ... and attempt to generate the tool path I get an error that the model is thicker than the material. Multiple attempts produce the same result.

I am not sure what is happening here but I can create the two sided model using the offset tool in my 8.5 version without any problem.

What am I not doing or doing wrong? Is there an issue with V9 trial version?

Dan
Attachments
Side One.PNG
Side One
dbrook
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:36 am
Location: Starkville, MS
Model of CNC Machine: 4x4 DIY Router


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests