turn and spin

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

turn and spin

Postby dan nelson » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:50 pm

Hello all, I am thinking about the upgrade to V9 . With the new turn and spin are there any more toolpath options that can be used other than than 3D? For example can we now spin our A axis like a lathe and have the router plunge up and down ? Thanks Dan and Bridget Nelson
dan nelson
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: palmyra wi
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster stinger III x3 with recoil lath

Re: turn and spin

Postby mezalick » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:54 pm

No Dan, sorry.
The Turn and Spin is for creating components (3-D ) .....not making your CNC turn like a lathe...

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: turn and spin

Postby IslaWW » Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:01 pm

Dan...
A CNC rotary axis cannot "spin like a lathe", and here's why:

Stepper motors are made to move in steps, not rotate continuously. Even if you can get them to spin with a pulse generator, they have so little torque, they are useless. A motor, or a high end servo with encoder (like big$ cnc lathes have) would be required to turn the 4th axis to enable spinning.

Lets assume you could get the rotary to spin by adding a 3 phase motor with VFD to control RPM. You now have an X, Y and Z mechanical system that is designed to cut in the 1-400 ipm range, depending on model. Normal turning is done in the 1500-2500 rpm range, yielding an average of 6000 to 20,000 inches per minute at the surface with a 1 to 4" blank. Much more than the gantry, X and Z components are built to withstand.

That said, many, even most think that the rotary needs to spin freely to accomplish a turning type profile. Look over the one in this link: https://youtu.be/9bLnP9R7bE0

This is a rotary coordinates type file, just like all rotary files. It was done in VCarve Pro with a 2D profile and a little bit of post processor trickery. Even tho there are few, if any other examples of this happening, at least verified on video, this was done to prove that it can be done using the tools we all have.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: turn and spin

Postby mohamed » Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:29 pm

Is this something like you're for on the software side?

https://docs.vectric.com/docs/V9.0/Aspi ... Setup.html

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: turn and spin

Postby PaulRowntree » Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:25 am

Gary is quite right, steppers run out of torque at high speed.

That said, I made a continuous rotation fourth axis that could turn at 500 rpm, then return control to the Mach3 while knowing exactly what angle the stock was at. The vids are way too long, but here is the build (3 parts)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLtgpmQ-h-I

I used the FlutePlus gadget to make the 'lathe' toolpaths. (2 parts)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLtgpmQ-h-I

PM me if you would like more info.
Cheers!
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests