Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby 4DThinker » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:13 pm

I've just tried every 3DS file I could find on my PC and they all generate the same error when trying to import them. STL versions all work.
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby highpockets » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:26 pm

Same problem.... Can't import 3ds files.
Image 36.png


Imports just fine in v8
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby mohamed » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:42 pm

GeneMpls wrote:Adrian- I am hoping you can answer a V9 question for me. I am battling with Fusion 360 and I am wondering if I can design in Aspire and export STLs for 3d printing- I know I can do it for one-sided models. I have a lot of experience with Aspire V8 and will upgrade to V9 if it will do what I desire. I want to do what is considered an undercut in V8 and produce a STL from it? This is a sample I have printed- I would like to add a feature to the bottom side and then export. Thanks Gene

knob 12.15.jpg


Exporting the top and bottom models as a single STL model will follow in the near future.

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby mohamed » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:45 pm

KennesawGA wrote:I just upgraded from Vcarve Desktop v8.5 to Desktop 9 and I am very happy with all the improvements. But I do not understand why the ability to pull the list of Toolpaths out as a floating window was removed in V9.

In version 8 and 8.5 there was a small button on the bottom right of the screen (to the right of the "Show 2D Previews" and "Solid" check boxes. When that little button was clicked the "Toolpath Control" panel would open and it could be dragged around the screen.
This was very useful when a project had lots of toolpaths and you were trying to group toolpaths with the same tool together for saving.

Is there another way to do this now, or did we loose that little bit of functionality in V9?

Picture of what I am talking about is attached.


This will come back in the next update. Follow the release notes on how to get access to it.

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby mohamed » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:53 am

The issue importing 3DS and OBJ files has been fixed for 9.009. Sorry about the inconvenience caused!

One tip for the future, if I may: It's quicker for us to spot issues / concerns / complaints if they are reported in their dedicated topics. It's easier for everyone to follow what's going on then, and respond to them. That will help us help you better and would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby dvaskie127 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:50 pm

mohamed wrote:The issue importing 3DS and OBJ files has been fixed for 9.009. Sorry about the inconvenience caused!

One tip for the future, if I may: It's quicker for us to spot issues / concerns / complaints if they are reported in their dedicated topics. It's easier for everyone to follow what's going on then, and respond to them. That will help us help you better and would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you

Mohamed


I still can't import 3ds files in V9. Tried upgrading but it tells me I have the latest version. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Has anyone gotten it to work with windows 10.
dvaskie127
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 4:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby mezalick » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:55 pm

It appears that 9.009 is not out yet....
Hang in there,,,any day now.
Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby Jozua » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:33 pm

I am a little confused.

I downloaded the Trail Version and it opens .3DS files just fine.

See attached picture.

Aspire Trail Edition 9.007

I am running Windows 7 Professional 64 bit.

Joz
Attachments
3DS File.jpg
Jozua
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:28 pm
Location: Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Model of CNC Machine: EZ-Router

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby ger21 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:39 pm

Because the issue is with Windows 10
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby Jozua » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:45 pm

ger21 wrote:Because the issue is with Windows 10


Thank you, Garry
So; the “newest and latest technology” is not always the best ……… :roll:

Joz
Jozua
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:28 pm
Location: Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Model of CNC Machine: EZ-Router

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby Adrian » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:25 pm

9.009 is out now and importing 3DS files under Windows 10.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby Rcnewcomb » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:09 pm

9.009 is out now and importing 3DS files under Windows 10.

Confirmed fixed on my system.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby MrYuri » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:14 pm

Hi,
I know that Aspire is made primary for CNC machining but as version 9 has lot of spining, turning two sided tools...
Can person create a 3d model to be exported so it will be printed on 3d printer?
I found out some parts are more economic to print than to mill (like "duh"...)
Upgrade for 400 is quite much especially if I don't particularly use new features.
But I like working with aspire and such side possibility would be very useful for people like me.

Thanks for answer.

Yuri
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby mezalick » Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:09 pm

MrYuri wrote:Hi,
I know that Aspire is made primary for CNC machining but as version 9 has lot of spining, turning two sided tools...
Can person create a 3d model to be exported so it will be printed on 3d printer?
I found out some parts are more economic to print than to mill (like "duh"...)
Upgrade for 400 is quite much especially if I don't particularly use new features.
But I like working with aspire and such side possibility would be very useful for people like me.

Thanks for answer.

Yuri



This may be a clue,

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=27696&p=200957#p200957

" Exporting the top and bottom models as a single STL model will follow in the near future.

Mohamed"


Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Re: Version 9.0 is here. Upgrade Now!

Postby MrYuri » Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:23 am



This may be a clue,

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=27696&p=200957#p200957

" Exporting the top and bottom models as a single STL model will follow in the near future.

Mohamed"


Michael


Thanks Michael.
Hope they don't mean near future version 10 for another 400$ :D
Will wait untill feature is added and then upgrade. Or at least when I'll need added features in Aspire9.
MrYuri
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

PreviousNext

Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jbrown2252 and 25 guests