Wood Grain Texture Effects

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
DEdwards
Model of CNC Machine: I dont know

Wood Grain Texture Effects

Post by DEdwards »

I am finally on the forum, and love everything that you guys post on here. I am new to CNC and routing, as I started working for my uncle 2 months ago.
I am getting a firm grasp of everything really well because of the wonderful tutorials provided from vectric.

I do have one question though, my uncle and I are looking at starting to route wood grain effects on certain things instead of blasting them. I have done my research and looked up everything I possibly could to get as much information and I am still stumped a little bit.

With the texture turned into a component and smoothed out and all of that jazz we still get a route time of almost 8 hours on a 2x2. I have done tests on multiple bits and different speeds.
He is looking at getting a new machine later in the summer, is there any possibility that an old machine could take longer to route these details.

Everybody here does great work and thank you so much for helping me find something I want to do as a career.

Any information helps

-Devin BSG

TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset

Re: Wood Grain Texture Effects

Post by TReischl »

It would help if you posted the feedrate you are using for the 3D cutting.

There are other texture tools that are available and work very well, and much faster since there are no small stepovers.

The time does not surprise me at all if you are looking for fine detail and you are running your machine slow.

When I do 3D work I keep in mind that typically the tool is taking a .005 -.012 cut and usually not very deep. I run mine at least 250 IPM. But remember that if there is a lot of steep Z motion, it is difficult to actually get that speed.