Pricing your services

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Norway 69
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: CNC router XJ1218

Pricing your services

Post by Norway 69 »

First of all: Please forgive me for misspellings and poor language, english is not my my native language. I know this topic has been discussed earlier, but I was'nt able to find it, and I guess this is an a topic that is interesting for a lot of you. I'm an optometrist by profession, but I need a hobby that is different from my dayjob, and some years ago I purchased a 4x6 feet CNC router for my workshop. Since then my woodworking hobby have slowly turned in to a part time job; Making wood signs. So far in 2017 i have had a busy woodworking year and the amount of orders are increasing. I have to streamline my woodworking business to keep up with the requests. Pricing have always been somewhat based on gut feeling. I always give a fixed price before I start on a job. Since I'm mainly making wood signs, today I price the sign by the length and by the woodtype I use (pine is cheap in Norway, mahogany is very expencive). I have been way off several times, when I have underestimated the amount of work in an order. I'm curious to know how you set the price for a job. I'm not asking for your rates, but the way you think when you set the price. Are you charging your customers for drawing and making drafts? Are you charging your customer by the hour, are you giving a fixed price or an estimate? And so on. Thanks in advance

Hallgeir Aronsen
http://www.snekkerboden.no

mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Pricing your services

Post by mezalick »

My impression is that it's a guessing game at best.....but with some notes taken about the process, over several project, one may see a trend of profit or loss.
It's what I call "The business of the Business".

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://www.youtube.com/user/mezalick
mm@mezalick.com

plcamp
Vectric Craftsman