Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby dustcitydesigns » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:36 am

So I have attached the file below, but i'm having an issue with an imported stl file. The file came in just fine and everything looks great. The 3d model of the stl looks great as well, and this is a super simple cut, we just need it to be exact. However when we do the 3d roughing and 3d finish passes, the tool will not go all the way down to the table. It hits some imaginary plane and doesn't go any deeper past it. When we do a final profile cut, it will go all the way down to the table no problem. Never had this issue before and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Josh
Attachments
O.penVapeDisplay.crv3d
(882 KiB) Downloaded 120 times
dustcitydesigns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 8:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 4'x8' Shopbot, IQ Pro w/ 4th Axis

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby Adrian » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:30 am

I don't do a lot of 3D stuff so it may be something else but the first thing I noticed was that your model is not the same thickness as the material and the difference is at the bottom so it wouldn't cut all the way through the material on the 3D cuts.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 10085
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby bravesoul » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:08 am

Adrian is correct, each component is different in size and are less than the material thickness.

Joe
bravesoul
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: Cleveland, TN
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRT ALPHA 48"x96"

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:27 pm

Here's my first wild guess as to what might be causing the issue.

Is it possible when you imported the STL model, it was not "floored" to the bottom of the model? (Maybe the original creator of the model set the modeling plane somewhere in the model body instead of at the base?)

The default is for the modeling plane to be centered between the top and bottom thickness of the model. If it was imported that way, then your modeling plane might be "stuck" inside the model (from top-to-bottom) instead of floored all the way to the base of the model, as you intend.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4361
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby bravesoul » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:35 pm

Mike,

I think that is part of the problem but if you look at each component each one has a slightly different height, it's random, not set at the same height. That would really make it hard to work with also.

Joe
bravesoul
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: Cleveland, TN
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRT ALPHA 48"x96"

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby CharlieP » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:53 pm

It appears that when these 3D Models were imported the Models were created with the Zero Plane running through the middle of them.

When the toolbit reaches the edge of the model, it respects the zero plane where there is no model to cut and does not go lower.

If you reimport your component to a new file and when aligning it in the import screen, be sure to select Bottom as your option for Zero Plane in Model, it will get you the result you are looking for with your 3D toolpathing.

I hope this helps.
CharlieP
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:25 am
Model of CNC Machine: N/A

Re: Issues with imported stl files and cut depth

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:31 pm

CharlieP wrote:It appears that when these 3D Models were imported the Models were created with the Zero Plane running through the middle of them.

When the toolbit reaches the edge of the model, it respects the zero plane where there is no model to cut and does not go lower.

If you reimport your component to a new file and when aligning it in the import screen, be sure to select Bottom as your option for Zero Plane in Model, it will get you the result you are looking for with your 3D toolpathing.

I hope this helps.


Yup. That's what I figured.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4361
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests