Zero Plane

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

Zero Plane

Postby dhesel » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:57 am

i have upgraded to Aspire v9 and i cant find the zero plane to add it to my modeling was it taken away and dont need it any more
dhesel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:18 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multitech

Re: Zero Plane

Postby Rcnewcomb » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:05 am

Model/Create Component/Add Zero Plane
Attachments
zeroplane.png
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2929
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Zero Plane

Postby dhesel » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:15 am

Thank you found it
dhesel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:18 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Multitech

Re: Zero Plane

Postby mezalick » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:46 am

You can also use the icon..

Michael
Attachments
Z.JPG
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Zero Plane

Postby Fred Grover » Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:42 pm

Ok, so I also found the Zero Plane option now in Aspire 9. But my question is do you truly need to use this feature and if so can someone explain in laymens terms when and why and what id does for you when designing of point us newbies to a good video tutorial to explain it ? Thanks and hope this is not to dumb of a question. Have a great day.
Fred Grover
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:06 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Pilot Pro 5050

Re: Zero Plane

Postby joeporter » Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:32 pm

http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... marks=zero plane and this viewtopic.php?f=28&t=6474
The former link is from the current Vectric Support website and the latter is from the forum from 2009. I found either of these from the drop down menu at the top of the forum and the search box. There are also about a million You-Tube videos and tutorials, but the Product Support drop down will give you the most up-to-date information. Hope this is of some help...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: Zero Plane

Postby Mike-S » Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:50 pm

The Zero plane gives a reference for other components to know where the material surface is located.
Say you have a dish that rises out of the material until it reaches the surface of your board. Without the Zero plane the dish component has trouble knowing where to call the top and so can result in a rough edge at the surface. The Zero plane defines exactly where to "stop."
Attachments
zeroplaneNO.jpg
zeroplane1.jpg
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: Zero Plane

Postby garylmast » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:53 pm

Also, if you do double sided cuts, you need a zero plane (limit plane) so you can mill past center (into the backside). Read the tutorial first before you try that. http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V9 ... ideo_id=51. Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Zero Plane

Postby Fred Grover » Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:52 am

Thanks everyone for the help and the links to what I think I need to understand this now on the Zero Plane. Going to have to try this now and see how it turns out. I appreciate this User Forum and the Members who help others learn. Great resource and place to be. I know I will be asking more questions soon. Have a great day/night everyone.

Cheers - Fred.
Fred Grover
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:06 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Pilot Pro 5050


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Durtdawber, Rcnewcomb, TReischl and 17 guests