Can't view posted Images

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Can't view posted Images

Postby RoutnAbout » Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 am

I'm not sure why, but the last 2 weeks i haven't been able to view any images that are posted on the forum, I see the name of the file but can't see the image that is posted. I also can download files also... am using win98. I've also made sure that I'm accepting the cookies ( if any ) from this site and forum. Anybody have any idea what i'm doing wrong?
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Postby Billt » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:00 am

Gee and I thought it was my computer.... I too have the same problem. However, if I use my laptop to log into the forum I can view the images.

Bill Thorpe
Billt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Gorham, Maine USA

Postby RoutnAbout » Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:21 am

I'm glad to hear that i'm not the only one with this problem. If I log on using my system at work with XP, i can view the posted images. ( I could for a few weeks but not the last 2 weeks). I've made sure that my firewall isn't blocking this site or forum, and that I'm allowing cookies. Guess i'll keep trying
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Postby Paco » Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:26 am

Internet Expoiter or else (FireFox, Netscape, Opera,...)?!
User avatar
Paco
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Valcourt, Québec, Canada

Postby BrianM » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:42 am

Hi All,

I'm not aware that we have changed anything that would break this in the last couple of weeks.

Do you see the thumbnails but clicking on them doesnt show the large image? If this is the case a reboot of the computer fixed this for me last week.

If this is not the problem, as Paco suggested, can you let us know what browser and operating system you are using and we can try and investigate further.

Cheers

Brian
User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Redditch U.K

Postby RoutnAbout » Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:21 pm

I'm usin Windows 98 and Internet Explorer. But last night I downloaded Firefox again and installed it. And I have the same problem with Firefox.

I don't see any thumbnail, but where the image is supposed to be I see the file name in bold black print. No link to download to view, just a bold text stating the file name.

When I get home this evening I'll see if there is an update for IE and attempt to see if its my end.

The versions i'm using are:

IE - 6.0.2800.1106IC
Firefox - 1.0.7

Don
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Postby Billt » Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:28 pm

My office machine is running Windows XP home.
Browser is IE 6.0.2900 with service pack 2

I am not able to view the thumbnails only the text for the JPEG image



My laptop which I can view the images on is running Windows ME
Billt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Gorham, Maine USA

Postby Tony Mac » Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:27 pm

Hello Bill & Don,

We have been trying to identify what may be causing the problem for you, but afraid we don't have any answers at the moment.

Will keep investigating and get back to you.

In the mean time, if anyone has any ideas they would be greatly appreciated.

Tony Mac
User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK

Postby Paco » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:03 pm

I only use FF (latest 1.5); I'm almost 99.99999% sure it as to do with settings (both from IE and FF)... FF; Tools/Options/Content/Load images (checked)|for the originating Web site only(unchecked)|no exceptions. Restart EVERYTHING (Win too) and retry...

Is this only with Vectric forum site or from any Web pages/sites?

Hope this help... let us know...
User avatar
Paco
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Valcourt, Québec, Canada

Postby Paco » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:09 pm

Hummm... while submiting the above post, I got this message

----------------------------
General Error

Failed sending email :: PHP ::

DEBUG MODE
Line : 234
File : emailer.php
----------------------------

but the post has been posted correctly anyway (I actually delete 4 when I notice it was there)...
User avatar
Paco
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Valcourt, Québec, Canada

Postby RoutnAbout » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:54 am

I'm made sure my settings in both IE and FF to load images. And allowing cookies from this site and forum, and made sure that my firewall is doing the same.

I just finished checking every link in the forums gallery, and the only Image that I was able to view, was the Post where Rcnewcomb posted the image of the swan that he carved into marble. And I see all of the posts in the gallery had a paperclip next to the different links for the posts EXCEPT the link to where the post for the swan in carved into the marble.

And yes this is the only site I've found where I have this problem.

Don
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Postby RoutnAbout » Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:01 am

I also got the same error message after I posted the last post

------------------------------------

Failed sending email :: PHP ::

DEBUG MODE

Line : 234
File : emailer.php

-------------------------------------

Don
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Viewing problem solved

Postby RoutnAbout » Thu Dec 22, 2005 3:34 am

I've finally decided to come out of the dark ages and see what every one else has been viewing and carving.

I've went out and purchased a new system , 2.5 ghz, 80gig hd, 21lcd display, and xp pro. i got tired of asking question to the local computer geeks and tossed out some C notes to solve the problem... am like a kid with a new toy... and the rendering and viewing of the rendered files in vcarve wizard are easier to manipulate..

and all the new images... good job guys, lots of great stuff and ideas...

Don
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle

Viewing images solved

Postby RoutnAbout » Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:20 pm

I just had to reinstall Zonealarms (firewall) again and I was again unable to view images on this site only.. after fumbling around in the depths of all of Zone Alarms options I found a place to add the link to this site and then had to enable all options for this site allowing all popups and ads.... ( thank you for not having any ads and popups on your site.) I hope this helps others.

Now i can go back to viewing all of the Craftsmen and Artists and the Wizards amazing work. ( btw I've found another version of one of the Vcarve Wizards, will try to post soon.)


Don
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don
User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: North Manchester, Indiana
Model of CNC Machine: Old Bot with a Rope Pull Start Spindle


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adam M and 37 guests