profile tabs

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

profile tabs

Postby coop » Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:02 pm

although i have used this option sucessfully several times
sometimes, no matter how or what size i try to use
they show up on the edit tab screen but in the preview toolpath screen
some show up always and others (outside profile) just do not exist
even after i have moved them around just to test them ?
help please
coop
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50

Re: profile tabs

Postby CRFultz » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:08 am

coop wrote:although i have used this option sucessfully several times
sometimes, no matter how or what size i try to use
they show up on the edit tab screen but in the preview toolpath screen
some show up always and others (outside profile) just do not exist
even after i have moved them around just to test them ?
help please


Coop, I have the same problem....
Each profile cut should have 14 tabs....it likes the square the most...
Attachments
ScreenHunter_11.jpg
(111.66 KiB) Downloaded 137 times
ScreenHunter_8.jpg
(121.2 KiB) Downloaded 138 times
CRFultz
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Longview, Texas

Postby BrianM » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:37 am

Hi Chuck and Coop,

This has been mentioned before on the forum. The problem is that the tabs were designed to be used with the Profile options Machine Vectors .. Inside and Outside as these are the options we were expecting people to use to cut things out as they take account of the cutter radius.

Unfortunately I did not 'grey out' the tab option for the 'Machine Vectors On' selection so although it sometimes works it is very inconsistent. However I have learnt the error of my ways :D and for the next version we will fully implement the tabs for the machine 'On' option as well.

Brian
User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Redditch U.K

Postby CRFultz » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:40 am

Thanks Brian,
So far it hasn't been a issue...the tabs have always been there for normal cutouts...

Chuck
CRFultz
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Longview, Texas

tabs

Postby coop » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:53 pm

i have had sucess with regular shapes
but some fonts just do not cooperate
i have tried all the options (on, inside, outside)
with no consistency ?
coop
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50

tabs

Postby coop » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:55 pm

are there other particulars involved
such as size or shape of tabs ?
or font details (radius size, bit size etc. ) ?
thanks
coop
coop
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50

Postby Tony Mac » Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:59 pm

Hi Coop,

Can you e-mail one of your files that includes the toolpaths + tab
settings to - support@vectrc.com - and we'll take a look.

Thanks,

Tony
User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK

tabs

Postby coop » Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:28 am

hey tony
i got things to work sorta,
i used a larger offset around the type to make up for the tool size
and keep it readable then choose the" machine inside" option
then it added whatever tabs i wanted
i'll try to send the old file with the" machine outside" or "on" option
thanks
coop
coop
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests