Tool Changes

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Tool Changes

Postby Rik » Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:09 pm

So I was wondering how do you handle tool changes. If one has more than one tool making his design do you have to save each part as a saved toolpath? Also how do you delete saved files? I know a stupid question, but.
Rik
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Postby Tony Mac » Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:26 pm

Hello Rik,

Many of the postprocessors already support Auto Tool Changing and it's very easy for us to modify the postp you are using to save multiple tools into a single file.

What postprocessor are you currently using?

When calculating multiple toolpaths using different cutters for a job you need to,

1. Specify a different Tool Number for each Tool used
2. Order the Toolpaths in the sequence required to cut the job - in the Toolpath list
3. Make the toolpaths Visible in the 3D window - click the check box for each toolpath
4. Save with the option 'Output all visible toolpaths to one file'

This saves all toolpaths being displayed in the 3D window, in the order they appear in the list.

Let us know which postp you are using and we can take this from there - support@vectric.com

There's a Delete Toolpath icon on the Toolpath Operations menu - 5th from the left.

Tony Mac
User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK

Tool Changes

Postby MZiegler » Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:38 pm

How about adding ShopBot second z axis to the list of postprocessors. For us that is our tool changer. I would have end mill in the second head for profile and pocket cuts. Thanks Mark
MZiegler
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:06 pm

Postby Tony Mac » Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:32 pm

Hi Mark,

The attached zip file contains postps (inch & metric) that can be used with Twin Z axis ShopBot Routers.

Copy the appropriate file into the folder,

C:\Program Files\VCarve Wizard 2.0\PostP

Restart VCW and the new postp will be available from the pull-down list on the Save Toolpaths form,

ShopBot Head 2 (inch)(*.sbp)
ShopBot Head 2 (mm)(*.sbp)


I believe the offset for Head 2 is handled as a variable in the SB Control Software?

Please let us know how you get on so we can look at including these postp's in the standard installation.

Tony
Attachments
ShopBot_Twin_Head_Postps.zip
(1.8 KiB) Downloaded 163 times
User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK

Postby MZiegler » Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:39 am

Thanks Tony
I just down loaded the ShopBot Head 2 file and add it to the list of postprocessors. Also I made a ShopBot Head 2.sbp file from VC wizard and I look at file, looks OK. It have the variable offsets for the x and y. Will test run it on the bot tomorrow. Thanks Mark
MZiegler
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:06 pm


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bret, BrianM, Mikehell, mtnc100, Tomg@coj.net and 24 guests