Need help understanding open/closed vector problem

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
jcizek
Model of CNC Machine: CRP4848

Need help understanding open/closed vector problem

Post by jcizek »

Hi everyone,
I am brand new to Vcarve, but I think I am getting a handle on most of it pretty well. I am having one issue I can'f figure out. I am working on an inlay project that started as a picture of a buffalo. I took the bitmap and did a "trace bitmap" to turn it into vectors. Worked great. It's in layer 1. I set an offset vector inside the edge of the drawing and Vcarved to that, while setting another offset between the outer line and the center to use a roughing endmill to clear out the large area. Worked great. The problem is down in the rear legs of the buffalo. They are very skinny. I want to separate the rear legs into their own "zone" and JUST vcarve that area, no endmill. I thought I could draw a line across (also in layer 1), trim it with trim tool, and since I had the "rejoin vectors" box checked, it would do so. It does not. It leaves the line as an open vector. I've tried everything, all the vector tools do nothing. I've tried node editting and dropping the ends of the line on top of one of the vector black boxes.

I think my problem is that that section of the drawing doesn't contain the END of any vectors and so my line can't join them. I can replicate this same behavior simply by drawing a box, cutting it in half with a line, then snipping the line back to the box. Same issue, the line remains "open". I am positive I am missing something simple, but after hours of forum searches and youtube crawling, I can't figure it out. Anyone offer any advice please?

Many thanks in advance!
James

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Need help understanding open/closed vector problem

Post by Adrian »