Dividing a circle

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Dividing a circle

Postby BernieNUFC » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:48 am

Hi

If i draw a circle and then put a line straight through to divide it and then trim the overlap of the line is it possible to join that line to the circle to stop the open vectors?
I have tried quite a few ways but none work so far

many thanks
Malc
VCarve Pro v9.012
High-Zs 720- Kress 1050 router ( CNC-Step DE version)
BernieNUFC
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: Haltwhistle, Northumberland, UK
Model of CNC Machine: High Z 720

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby Adrian » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:08 am

As usual with VCarve there are many ways of doing that. Personally I would go into node edit mode and delete two of the arcs to leave the semi-circle and then use the Join with a Straight Line tool to join. If you want to do it with the Trim (scissors) tool then make sure the Rejoin Trimmed... box is checked in the tool and it will automatically join the line to the circle. If you have that checked and it's not working then you must have a gap somewhere.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9804
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby Samson » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:05 pm

Maybe I'm misunderstanding the question, but it sounds like he might be wanting the dividing line to be connected to the full circle, and not just making it a half circle.
If that's the case, I've tried it several times, with different shapes, and was unsuccessful. If there is a way, I would be interested in the answer also.
Samson
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 10:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 4x4

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby Adrian » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:09 pm

If it is that way with a line through a full circle then it's impossible to not have an open vector. You can't join an open vector to a closed vector without making the closed vector open as well. All depends on what the intended toolpath operation/end result is as to how to handle that scenario.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9804
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby BernieNUFC » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:55 pm

Samson is right

I am drawing an eye and although not quite a circle i thought it was close enough for what iwas trying to do, please see pic, but it would seem tho that it is not possible from adrian

thank you regardless

eye.png
VCarve Pro v9.012
High-Zs 720- Kress 1050 router ( CNC-Step DE version)
BernieNUFC
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: Haltwhistle, Northumberland, UK
Model of CNC Machine: High Z 720

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby Adrian » Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:25 pm

How do you want to toolpath it? If you're doing a profile cut on the line to get then it doesn't matter if its an open vector.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9804
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby highpockets » Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:25 pm

Create 3 separate closed vectors.
Attachments
Image 589.png
White
Image 590.png
Color
Image 591.png
Pupil
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby BernieNUFC » Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:31 pm

I would like to do 2 pockets like highpockets has drawn but will i not get msg of duplicated lines if one sits over the other?
VCarve Pro v9.012
High-Zs 720- Kress 1050 router ( CNC-Step DE version)
BernieNUFC
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: Haltwhistle, Northumberland, UK
Model of CNC Machine: High Z 720

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby highpockets » Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:53 pm

No, you'll be running them individually. I'm assuming you what to set different heights to the White, Color and Pupil....
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby BernieNUFC » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:13 pm

highpockets wrote:No, you'll be running them individually. I'm assuming you what to set different heights to the White, Color and Pupil....


Yes this is correct, thank you for your reply

Malc
VCarve Pro v9.012
High-Zs 720- Kress 1050 router ( CNC-Step DE version)
BernieNUFC
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: Haltwhistle, Northumberland, UK
Model of CNC Machine: High Z 720

Re: Dividing a circle

Postby highpockets » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:33 pm

Something like this?
Attachments
Image 592.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jim_in_PA and 16 guests