Cannot create Form tool ?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby hooby » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:43 pm

I am trying to create a new form tool - it is a 1/2" round nose bit. I have created and selected the vector for its profile, added a new tool in the tool database and selected its type as Form Tool. This is exactly what the instructions in the help file say.

However, it refuses to believe I have the profile vector selected - so will not create it. What am I doing wrong? (using Vcarve Desktop 10.018)

Annotation 2019-12-14 154043.png


I have attached the profile - if anyone wants to see if they can use it successfully.

Thanks
Attachments
roundnose_profile.crv
(20 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
hooby
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:51 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:21 pm

Hi,

Just set up a 1/2” Ballnose. No need to use the custom profile for that.

(BTW, your profile drawing is "defective"...the arc at the bottom of your profile is duplicated on top of itself)
Attachments
bad-profile-vector.png
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby hooby » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:31 pm

Ok thanks for that simple suggestion!

But I an still curious why I cannot create a custom form tool as per instructions. Either I am doing something wrong, or the instructions are incorrect or there’s a bug? Any thoughts?

Ahh just saw your edited reply.... I wondered if the profile vector was at fault ... I checked it but did not see what you found... thanks
hooby
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:51 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:34 pm

Ha! The “bug” is your vector...as shown in the screenshot I attached.

If you delete that extra arc, you could certainly use the Form Tool (although there is absolutely no need to do so - it’s just a simple Ballnose Bit)
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:39 pm

hooby wrote:
Ahh just saw your edited reply.... I wondered if the profile vector was at fault ... I checked it but did not see what you found... thanks


Glad you saw that! Sometimes it’s the easy stuff that throws a monkey wrench at us!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby hooby » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:46 pm

Well I think the error message was misleading.... I had vector(s) selected so that confused me. Perhaps an error message like “malformed or duplicate vector” would have enabled me to figure out myself what I did wrong....

Thanks :D
hooby
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:51 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:54 pm

hooby wrote:Well I think the error message was misleading.... I had vector(s) selected so that confused me. Perhaps an error message like “malformed or duplicate vector” would have enabled me to figure out myself what I did wrong....

Thanks :D


You can actually tell there is an underlying vector by looking at the selected vector. When you select a vector, you see the pink dashed line. Observe that the dashed line is bolder where that sneaky vector was. I could even see that from your original screenshot.

Also, if you use the Vector Validator, it will display 86 overlaps and 199 intersections. Not exactly a "simple error message", but it is yet another alert that there is something wrong with the vector. At that point, just go into Node Editing and fix (delete) that extra arc.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby TReischl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:00 pm

With something that simple I would have deleted it, and tried redrawing it.

Well, actually not, I would have just spec'd a ball nose tool.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Cannot create Form tool ?

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:04 pm

Agreed, Ted. But, this was a good learning opportunity anyway.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests