Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby cusoak » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:04 pm

I did a file to cut some finger joints .box joints .
After I ran the tool path and deleated the extra wood, I was hopeful that I was going to be able to rotate the 2 pieces to see if they would fit together.
I was not able to do so,or it does not have that feature.
Any ideas I attached the file
Thanks Jeff Peters
Attachments
New First finger design try.crv
(42.5 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby highpockets » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:11 am

No, you can't move parts of the preview.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2568
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby 4DThinker » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:46 am

As Highpockets said, you can't move parts relative to each other in the preview screen.

That said, with vectors that fit together and using a 1/16" bit profiling ON the line your parts won't fit. If you profile outside the line then the parts will fit except for the inside corners which will have a fillet 1/2 the radius of the bit used.
To cut conventional finger joints that fit without any extra cleanup work the parts need to be clamped vertically and cut from the end. Once you can clamp boards vertically or at any angle all sorts of joinery is possible.

4D:
http://4dfurniture.blogspot.com/2016/05 ... c-cut.html
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby cusoak » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:30 pm

Ok I will try that.
I am do this as test to see if I can design box joints by using the polyline tool and smart snapping to come up with the vector.
So that I then cut them vertical off the front of my machine using a .25 end mil
So with that said I need to figure out how orinent how the toolpath should look on the material.
I know that there is a gadget that does the set up to cut on top of the cnc.
I also found a gadget an collage engineer did to use with vcarve pro 7 or 8.
But could not find out from vectric if ti would still work.
Jeff
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby Adrian » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:42 pm

Have you tried Jims' new gadget - viewtopic.php?f=51&t=33179
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9806
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby cusoak » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:13 pm

No I have no I will check it out today.
Thanks Adrian
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby sharkcutup » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:19 pm

I have taken the parts you are designing (.5" panels with mating finger joints) and created a 3D model of each part and then put the parts together using same program. The program also has the capability of checking for inference fit. Your parts are a tight fit according to the program verification for interference fit.


Sharkcutup
Facebook: Hogan's CNC Crafts
Website: www.hoganscnccrafts.com
V-Carve Pro 9.518
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby sharkcutup » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:55 pm

fingerjoints_matchup.jpg


Here is the image after mating of parts.

Sharkcutup
Facebook: Hogan's CNC Crafts
Website: www.hoganscnccrafts.com
V-Carve Pro 9.518
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby Jim_in_PA » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:37 pm

For something with critical fit like that, I personally feel it's a best practice to burn some inexpensive material of the same thickness as your intended project to get it right before committing to the expensive stuff. Over time, there will be less need for that because you'll learn what the allowances required are for the kind of work you do so less "test pieces" have to be born. But it's ALWAY better to screw something up on scrap or scrap-able material rather than do something nasty to material that's expensive or irreplaceable. (due to special figure, etc.)
User avatar
Jim_in_PA
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby ger21 » Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:26 pm

I was hopeful that I was going to be able to rotate the 2 pieces to see if they would fit together.


Just moving the vectors together would accomplish the same thing.
As would simply measuring them with the measure or dimension tools.


The reality, though, as Jim says, is that you'll need to make some test cuts to adjust the fit. You'll find that actual tool size, and machine deflection will influence the fit.
I've seen machine deflection result in nearly 1/16" gaps in joints that should be tight.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby cusoak » Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:04 pm

Thanks to You all for the great advice. The other day I was playing around and did some moving around od the vector on that screen and the looked like the did fit. Also Yes to doing test pieces.
For me I do that most always on a new design to make sure it is going to cut the way I think it should.
Was it a big deal to make those in to models. And would it be a short story has how to do that?
Thanks Jeff.
Ps I am going to up grade to version 10 soon, what if any thing will I need to save someplace,else as to not lose it.
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Can you move 2 parts on the preview screen

Postby Jim_in_PA » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:05 pm

ger21 wrote:

The reality, though, as Jim says, is that you'll need to make some test cuts to adjust the fit. You'll find that actual tool size, and machine deflection will influence the fit.
I've seen machine deflection result in nearly 1/16" gaps in joints that should be tight.


Ger' actually brings up an important point...tooling affects fit and despite the fact that tooling is sold in "standard" sizes, there are always small variations in what the actual size is between two different tools of the "same" size, it can change slightly with use/wear and definitely changes if they get resharpened. For intricate joinery, if you cut the same file in the future, you still need to do at least one test cut to insure that any variables between "then" and "now" are accounted for. Thousandths can matter for tight fitting things. That said, one also has to plan for room for the glue, too... ;)
User avatar
Jim_in_PA
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Inchlaggan and 29 guests