New one for today V-10

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

New one for today V-10

Postby Jan.vanderlinden » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:13 pm

I am now getting a message that my job is too big.
Below are my job settings and the message that i get when I try to save the file.
Capture.JPG

Capture1.JPG
I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more.
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Location: Columbus Ohio
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby highpockets » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:18 pm

You have a Width of "FF"
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2513
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby rscrawford » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:37 pm

Are you using the desktop or the pro version? Desktop has a limited cut area.
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC, ShopSabre IS408

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby Jan.vanderlinden » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:17 pm

John,
That is really crazy.
I just opened up the file again and these are the settings.
Capture2.JPG


The file has to be corrupt somehow.
I just started a whole new one and there is no problem with it.

I use desktop and just upgraded to V-10
I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more.
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Location: Columbus Ohio
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby Leo » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:23 pm

With the first one --- width FF - was likely a problem
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2957
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby Jan.vanderlinden » Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:54 pm

No, it still did it.
I just dumped the file and started over.
I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more.
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Location: Columbus Ohio
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby highpockets » Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:57 pm

I would suggest you send the file to support@vectric.com and let them have a look see.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2513
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: NEW ONE TODAY FOR V-10

Postby ezurick » Sat Sep 21, 2019 6:32 am

highpockets wrote:I would suggest you send the file to support@vectric.com and let them have a look see.



Right... another thing... when I ran into this issue. I also have the desktop size limitation. I was getting that error on a job although I know that the size was well under the 25 x 25. Here come to find out is that I was keeping extra vectors to the side (outside the wood area) and since they once had a toolpath, some hay the program didn't like that even though I was NOT using them in the current toolpath. As soon as I deleted those extra vectors it stop giving me the limitation error. I hope I explained that well enough...
~ Ed
User avatar
ezurick
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:27 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6040

Re: New on for today V-10

Postby Jan.vanderlinden » Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:59 pm

That's interesting.
I also had vectors to either side of the work area.
Seems to me that something is wrong if the software is looking beyond the work area.
Come to think of it, I have done the same thing in V-9 and it wasn't a problem.
I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more.
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Location: Columbus Ohio
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve

Re: New on for today V-10

Postby dealguy11 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:46 pm

I imagine since it's possible to machine vectors outside the work area using 2d toolpaths, that's why they're enforcing the size limitation. There are a number of reasons for giving people the ability to machine outside of the work area (for example, to preserve resolution for the 3d portion of the model), so it's not really an error.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: New on for today V-10

Postby Adrian » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:47 pm

It was the same in V9 as other people raised the "issue". If you have a vector off the work area that is part of the toolpath and it exceeds the desktop limit then you will get the error. I suppose it shouldn't really do that if it's not the active toolpath but that's the way it is as far as I'm aware.

The work area is only a visual reference. For many toolpaths there's nothing stop you defining the work area as an 1" square and then cutting to 25".
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9722
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: New on for today V-10

Postby mtylerfl » Sat Sep 21, 2019 5:56 pm

dealguy11 wrote:...There are a number of reasons for giving people the ability to machine outside of the work area (for example, to preserve resolution for the 3d portion of the model), ...


Hi Steve,

I’m not “getting” this particular example you mentioned. Would you mind explaining this a bit? The only application I can think of would be a model in a work area just big enough to contain it, then using job offsets (or offsets at the machine) to carve multiples. Is that what you mean?
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4089
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests