Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

Postby Cncmachine2 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:24 pm

Cutting a two sided 3D shape using vector boundary selected. The model has holes within the outside vector selected which I do not want to 3D rough cut. Is there a way to stop from cutting the holes ? I would like to cut holes using a 2D profile cut in a separate procedure.

Thank you!
Last edited by Cncmachine2 on Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cncmachine2
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Mach3

Re: Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

Postby Adrian » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:28 pm

Create a vector around the holes and select those at the same time as the boundary vector. Create the toolpaths with selected vectors option and it won't machine inside those vectors.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9579
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

Postby Cncmachine2 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:08 pm

Thank you for your response. I tried your suggestion and it still cut the holes.
Cncmachine2
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Mach3

Re: Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

Postby Adrian » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:15 pm

It shouldn't do. Hold down the shift key, click on the outside vector and then each of the vectors around the holes. All the vectors should now be highlighted. Create the roughing or finishing toolpath making sure that you have Selected Vector(s) set. Just tested it again and it definitely only machines the areas between the vectors.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9579
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a 3D Shape Vcarve Pro 9.5-Need Help

Postby Cncmachine2 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:34 pm

Thank you again, it worked.
Cncmachine2
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Mach3


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests