Error codes

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Re: Error codes

Postby mtylerfl » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:22 am

I'm going to bed pretty soon, so I'm going to post the modified (corrected) file here for you, anyway!

NOTE: Gary mentioned changing the diameter of the bit to 0.248" to make sure the bit would go into all the slots. I initially just set the diameter to the normal 0.25", but after running the preview, I saw there were indeed some slots that the bit "thought" it couldn't fit. No error messages, just not a complete toolpath. So, I set the bit to the slightly smaller diameter as Gary pointed out, and that corrected that issue. I believe this "no fit" issue occurs due to math rounding "errors" done by whatever computer chip is doing the math. It's an annoyance, as it sometimes happens and sometimes not. One popular workaround is to do as Gary suggested - enter the bit diameter as slightly smaller in the tool database. (I made it 0.249" and that works fine on my computer.)

Also, you need to arrange and add tabs where needed. A few parts don't have tabs at all, and others the tab locations are in areas that will be difficult to sand off. Editing the tabs will be done by you at your end, according to your own preferences.
Attachments
modified-PADDLEBOARD GRID.crv
(808 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Last edited by mtylerfl on Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4086
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Error codes

Postby mtylerfl » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:28 am

tmoore4049 wrote:Worked perfectly. You rock!


Good job! It's always best to go through the steps yourself just to "lock in" the process. Excellent for you!

As you see, I posted my modified version for "just in case" you needed it (along with my commentary!).

Glad to help - goodnight!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4086
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Error codes

Postby bbiehl » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:04 am

The best and fastest way to find an open vector is:
1. Edit-> Select all open vectors (open vectors highlight in red)
2 Select the Offset icon under Offset and Layout ( the exact location of the open vector will be shown by the black square)
This will even locate the 3rd open vector.
This is not a documented procedure for some reason.

-brian
bbiehl
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:50 pm
Location: Western Oregon
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Arty 58; Aspire 9.5

Previous

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], scotttarnor, sparky957 and 34 guests