STL file not showing as a 3D file

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby CharlieP » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:50 pm

Hello,

If I may just check something with you.
From your original description, it sounds like you have started the 3D Importer and have the Blue STL file on screen, and then before you complete the import, you have gone to the Toolpathing Panel and tried to Create your 3D Toolpath.

Doing this would indeed give you the error that "I need to have a 3D image".

If this is the exact steps you took, you just need to complete the 3D Import by clicking OK in the 3D Import Panel on the left.

I hope this helps

Charlotte
CharlieP
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:25 am
Model of CNC Machine: N/A

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby ezurick » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:16 pm

Ok... I stand corrected, once again. Apparently when I pulled up the rough toolpath, it already had my previous setting of "Select Vector" for the Machine Boundary. I switched to "Model Boundary" and it worked. Apologize, and thanks for correcting me. Us newbies will sure keep you on your toes... lol.
User avatar
ezurick
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:27 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6040

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby eddiegnz1 » Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:26 am

OCEdesigns
did you find a solution. I'm having the same problem with my STL from Fusion 360.
See the screen shots attached
Attachments
Error Msg.JPG
No2DModel.JPG
eddiegnz1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:20 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby Adrian » Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:28 am

eddiegnz1 wrote:OCEdesigns
did you find a solution. I'm having the same problem with my STL from Fusion 360.
See the screen shots attached

From the colour of your model in the 3D window I'd say it's the issue that CharlieP raised a couple of post above in this thread. You haven't completed the STL import phase. You need to go back to the Modelling tab where the dialog should still be open and press OK to accept the import and change the STL into a Vectric model that you can toolpath. If the dialog is not there you'll need to start again and make sure you press OK before moving onto toolpath operations etc.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9479
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby OCEdesigns » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:11 pm

Sorry it took me few days but Here is a screen shot of what I am getting. I just tried to mess with it again and still can't figure it out.

After following the directions above I made sure to click "Ok" Now it lets me start the 3D roughing toolpath but all I get is this second picture.
Attachments
Flag Eagle .jpg
Flag Eagle 2.jpg
OCEdesigns
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended with VCarve Pro 9.5

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby martin54 » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:20 pm

OCEdesigns wrote:Sorry it took me few days but Here is a screen shot of what I am getting. I just tried to mess with it again and still can't figure it out.

After following the directions above I made sure to click "Ok" Now it lets me start the 3D roughing toolpath but all I get is this second picture.


You need to read Charlie's post, that model colour is the import colour BEFORE you create the 3D model within the Vectric software, yes you can look at in on the import screen rotate it etc but until you click the OK button at the bottom of the import form the model will not be created :lol: :lol:

This tutorial covers importing 3D data, stl imports are covered at about 5 mins in to the video :lol:

https://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V ... ideo_id=89

OK what does the 3d view look like? When you import your model the model has to be sitting within the bounds of your material block, any part of the model that is outside of the material block will not be created :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4587
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby OCEdesigns » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:25 pm

It looks like it is trying to make it a very tall model!!

Here is my Job set up for material. I set it for 2 inche thick piece of wood. When I import it the file shows it in mm but I change it to inches. For some reason I think this is also an issue. I can't seem to figure out what might be happening. The second pic is what I see when I first import it.
Attachments
Flag Eagle 3.jpg
Flag Eagle 4.jpg
OCEdesigns
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended with VCarve Pro 9.5

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby martin54 » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:41 pm

Are you scaling the model or just selecting inches? Looks like you might be trying to import a model that is huge at 498 inches by 329 inches by 67 inches so only a very small part of the model fits in your material block :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4587
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby OCEdesigns » Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:02 pm

I think I got it figured out!! I had to change the X Y settings. For some reason the model X and Y are different from how I have my machine set up (I hear that is common) After noticing that I was able to change the mm to inches and then clicked OK again and it let me set up my toolpaths.
OCEdesigns
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended with VCarve Pro 9.5

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby OCEdesigns » Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:03 pm

martin54 wrote:Are you scaling the model or just selecting inches? Looks like you might be trying to import a model that is huge at 498 inches by 329 inches by 67 inches so only a very small part of the model fits in your material block :lol: :lol:

YES! This was one of my first mistakes. I finally figured out to scale both.
OCEdesigns
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4 Extended with VCarve Pro 9.5

Re: STL file not showing as a 3D file

Postby mebell » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:29 am

Chad I'm sorry I did not follow up on the email with the design file for this project. I sent it the evening of the 28 but it has been hectic here and I did not make sure you got the email. Hopefully, it will show you how I would do the file but you will have to rotate it for your machine and recalculate all toolpaths.
mebell
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:27 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC-Shark

Previous

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: timtsuga and 24 guests