G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

Postby sm38240 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:14 pm

So, I am making a simple cutting board with the client's name in it that I want to engrave then I plan to fill with tinted epoxy. I am using Vcarve Pro, Mach 3 and an Avid CNCPro4848. I have two words that render well, see below, and Vcarve appears to generate the correct G-code. However, on the first letter, "B", the CNC just stops. Same place every time. This something related to the font or letter, I think. I dont think it is Mach 3 related or CNC related. I have had this problem once before and changed the font and everything work. I would like to understand what is happening here. Any ideas? I am using a 60 degree v bit and I am using the V-Carve Tool Operation.

Thanks,

Stan
Attachments
brown.jpg
sm38240
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: cnc router parts pro4848

Re: G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

Postby Adrian » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:18 pm

Is your version of Mach3 properly registered? It will only run a certain number of lines of code before stopping otherwise.

Not sure how it could be font related if the preview is correct in VCarve etc. How are you transferring the file to the machine? Has the whole file saved properly if you're using removable media? What does the line of code it stops on say?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9373
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

Postby sm38240 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:26 pm

yep, it is registered. Been using the CNC most of the day, but this is the first engraving run.

It always stops at:

G1Z-0.1250F30.0
sm38240
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: cnc router parts pro4848

Re: G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

Postby sm38240 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:30 pm

Problem Solved. Thanks for the idea on media as I am using a jump drive. Tried a different USB jump drive and it works. Interesting in that all the code appears to be there.
sm38240
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: cnc router parts pro4848

Re: G-Code Stops in Middle of a Run

Postby ger21 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:35 pm

With Mach3, all g-code should be copied to the local hard drive, and loaded and ran from there. Running files from anywhere else may result in problems.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adrian and 26 guests