Hi Everyone - New User Bits Question

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Beej
Model of CNC Machine: Z90 Bear Whopper 10'x5'

Hi Everyone - New User Bits Question

Post by Beej »

Hi Everyone :)
Just joined the forum today and have been dying to ask some questions, but wanted to introduce myself first but couldn't seem to find a 'Welcome' section? :)
I have been a professional sign writer, airbrush artist and designer for over 35 years now and a couple of months back, a friend and i started-up a new company. He purchased a Bear Whopper Z90 CNC machine which came with VCarve, Mach3 and lots of bits. Of course, as new users, none of us knew what any of the bits were for so I spent two weeks watching brilliant tutorials on Vectric's site and went off searching the net etc . .

Through some trial and error we managed to discover what was best for cutting MDF out of what we had in this selection (a 4mm straight flute) but have no idea what most of the other bits are for. On the images, I know that image 5 are Ball Nose bits for relief carving (they look like 3 of the same?) and pic 7 are for engraving - but will have to try them as not sure what bit is what? Practically nothing is written on the bits sides either, so makes it even more difficult!

I will post some pics of the type the things we have managed to produce in the past four weeks in the other forum of images of work done, but for now, if someone could give us some advice on what these bits are for and what material etc, I would be very grateful. I am sure I will have many more questions very soon but for now, here are the pics.

Cheers
Beej

---
image9.JPG
image8.JPG
image7.JPG
image6 (2).JPG
image5 (2).JPG
image4 (2).JPG

Beej

Re: Hi Everyone - New User Bits Question

Post by Beej »

image3 (3).JPG
image2 (4).JPG
image1 (7).JPG
I think 9 is a huge bit for MDF, 10 is for skimming our spoil board (which we have yet to do!) and 11 is a massive 120 degree VBit (I think)?