Nesting Multiple Materials in the same file

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
TSmith88
Model of CNC Machine: Onsrud

Nesting Multiple Materials in the same file

Post by TSmith88 »

I'm new to using the Forums here, so please forgive my ignorance if this is something quick and easy to find.

I have a job that is using multiple different materials, is there a way for me to nest each of those materials within the same file, or is it necessary for me to create a new file for every individual material?

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Nesting Multiple Materials in the same file

Post by Adrian »

What do you mean by materials? VCarve has no concept of material. Do you mean different sheet sizes? If so there is currently no way to handle multiple sheet sizes within a single nest. You can fudge it a bit with the vector boundary option but it requires a bit of cut and pasting to achieve.

TSmith88

Post by TSmith88 »

Sorry, I was a little unclear.

I need to nest some parts onto sheets that will be cut from 1/2" Birch plywood, and I need to nest some different parts onto sheets that will be cut from 1/2" maple plywood, so I need to separate both of those nests for my shop to cut them properly.

What I was hoping to do was to nest the birch parts and GCode them, then nest the Maple parts and GCode them, with both nests on the same file, as opposed to having a Birch Plywood VCarve file,and a separate Maple Plywood VCarve file. Is that possible? Does that make more sense?

dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Post by dealguy11 »

Not sure what the advantage is in having both materials in the same file. I'm not aware of a way to do that in the Vectric programs. Frankly, in my shop we'd prefer to have them in two separate files, as it's more natural. The material can be noted on the run sheet for each file to avoid confusion.
Steve Godding
Not all who wander (or wonder) are lost