It Nearly Worked!

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
BigC
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Workbee

It Nearly Worked!

Post by BigC »

Hi guys,
I'm looking for a little more help with my soccer crest/shield/emblem.
I managed to cut it out today. YES I know there is a multitude of things wrong with it, which is why I need some expert help
I am still a newbie and I'm using V-Carve Desktop. so go easy on me

Firstly the 3D Tudor Rose model/indentation is too large for the piece (I will make this smaller thats not a problem) but maybe it is recessed too much I feel and I'm losing a lot of definition here, How do I correct this. (it's a genuine V3M file).
As the test material, I was using for this trial was MDF I lost a couple of the small bars in the milling because they are quite small especially when the V Bit is putting on a chamfer. I won't be using MDF for the final piece so any suggestions for which wood species I should go for. I don't want these small pieces breaking off on the final piece so any advice on that score would be ideal also
Thanks in advance for all your suggestions it is very much appreciated as I try to get to grips with the software and my limitations
Regards
C

BigC
Vectric Wizard

Re: It Nearly Worked!

Post by BigC »

I'm thinking to get more definition into the Rose relief I'm having to lift the base height of the model slightly, Am I correct in this line of thought?
Regards
C

martin54
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber 48, Triac PC, Isel fixed gantry

Post by martin54 »

What size bit have you used for your 3D model, it might be that the lack of definition is due to using to large a bit, that's where the toolpath preview becomes your best friend as you can experiment until you get the detail you want without cutting anything :lol: :lol: