Pocket stepover > 100%?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby hack613 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:29 am

I'm wanting to create cool effects by having the stepover to be over 100 percent. The software doesn't allow it.

Obviously I could then tell the system I have a bigger cutter than I really have but is there a better way?
User avatar
hack613
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:06 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Various 6040, 3020, 2020

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby tomgardiner » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:19 am

1. Use a ballnose bit. 2. Create your own toolpath with offset lines joined and run a profile on the line.
tomgardiner
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FMT Patriot 4 x8

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby hack613 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:25 am

thanks for the reply!

That's actually what I'm doing.. I'm making the lines in cad and then doing follow profile... but it takes so long to make so many lines for what I'm up to.

The job I'm working on has taken hours so I'm wanting to let the CAM take care of it.

Okay I'll keep doing what I'm doing and keep my eyes out for another solution...
User avatar
hack613
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:06 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Various 6040, 3020, 2020

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby Adrian » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:16 am

Depends exactly what you're doing with the vectors but if you're doing the type of work it sounds like you're doing you should look at the texture facilities in VCarve.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9129
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby hack613 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:35 am

Okay, so textures can make even lines a different spacings that are wider then the cutter? I'll have a look...

Thanks...
User avatar
hack613
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:06 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Various 6040, 3020, 2020

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:58 pm

Try this: create a pocket toolpath and tell VCarve that you are using a 3/8" bit at 100% step-over with no "Profile Pass". Now, cut the job using a 1/8" cutter.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Pocket stepover > 100%?

Postby rscrawford » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:40 pm

To draw many lines, I draw two lines with the start point on opposite ends, spaced the correct distance apart. Then use the 'array' feature to make as many copies as I need, and the spacing will be perfect. Much quicker than trying to set up a pocket tool path exactly how you want it, and you get exactly what you want.
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC with recoil


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests