.5" Acrylic speeds?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
snapajap
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3

.5" Acrylic speeds?

Post by snapajap »

I have read a lot of discussions about acrylic speeds and I am left scratching my head. I have had success and failure in this and I can't figure out where I went wrong. I am using a Laguna Swift table and spindle. I am cutting black acrylic (cast I think?), it seems hard and loud when cut. I last cut a rebate (pocket) of 8mm and had mini chips along the finished edge. I'd love to get some good feedback about ipm and rpm etc.
Thanks for any help, I'm a newbie, so go easy :)

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY

Re: .5" Acrylic speeds?

Post by ger21 »

What bit are you using?
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Xxray
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Post by Xxray »

Generally, you want to use low rpm's and high feed rates with acrylic to minimize melting issues. Good sharp bit probably most important factor of all.
Also, freezing temps that many of us are going through is a factor, makes acrylic more brittle and prone to fracturing.
Doug

snapajap

Post by snapajap »

First off, thanks very much for taking the time to respond!!!

The bit I have been using (and reading I shouldn't) is a 4 flute up cut 3.75 d. I'm in Los Angeles, it's been "cold" here lately, but not cold cold. So I ordered a O flute (what ever that is?) and that should be tomorrow. I think I ran at 18,000 rpm and 75ipm, I've since read that's backwards. I was doing 2.5mm passes too..It was loud and slow and poor quality.

mark-s
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: diy 4 X 4 CNC Router

Post by mark-s »

With a zero flute,6 mm bit, I run at 13000 rpm seems to work good.
mark-s

snapajap

Post by snapajap »

Thanks Mark!

I meant to say I was using a .375" bit, so like 9.5mm. Sorry.

snapajap

Post by snapajap »

Mark, what feed rate do you use?

martin54
Vectric Archimage