vector issues with vcarve

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
ezurick

vector issues with vcarve

Post by ezurick »

Folks, I hope I am asking in the proper forum, but this issue is with Vcarve Desktop. I've tried to ask Vectric support to help.. but I warned them I am a newbie, but it appears they EXPECT a person to be profession in their software with procedures and terms. My issue is with vector files. I've upload an example (which I had to zip because this website doesn't like certain file extensions). I get various vector files from the Internet. Many times I have no issue or very little issues. But some complex ones I just can not figure out how to fix this. A quick remedy is to use the profile toolpath, but it just doesn't look the same as vcarve toolpath.

If you import the attached .svg vector file you'll see it look rather normal. But if you high light the whole thing and use the vcarve toolpath it will calculate a long time and then look like something from outer space. The Vectric support tell me it has to do with open vectors. I right click and select all open vectors and it doesn't find any.

Can someone help my understand how to fix this? Again, I need to use vcarve toolpath. I appreciate your assistance...
Attachments
Forest marquetry pattern.zip
(245.02 KiB) Downloaded 120 times

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: vector issues with vcarve

Post by Adrian »

A V-carve toolpath requires an inner and outer vector as that is what guides the bit. Think of a doughnut shape. What you're trying to do is a very advanced topic and you'll need to be proficient with the editing tools in VCarve and be able to visualise the finished result. It will take time and patience starting with a set of vectors like that.