Code question

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Code question

Postby JohnsCNC » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:34 pm

Can anyone tell me what this line of code does?

N140G00G43Z0.8000H1

It seems that after I set the z height with the auto button, this code seems to change the z height to .8 without moving the machine and when the program continues to run, it too high.

Thanks
JohnsCNC
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade CNC

Re: Code question

Postby rscrawford » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:21 am

Did you calibrate your tool length measuring switch? Usually, that line of code would set the tool offset using a number (in this case 0.8) that corresponds to the offset of the switch from your spoilboard. So if your TLMS is 0.8" above the level of your spoilboard, then this offset would set your tool height to the exact level of your spoilboard. Calibrating the TLMS to the current spoilboard height should give you an exact measurement with your auto tool measures.
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC with recoil

Re: Code question

Postby ger21 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:18 am

It applies a Tool Length offset using the length in your tooltable, for tool #1, and moves it to Z0.8.
The typical format for G43 would be G43H1 Z0.8

If you do not have an ATC, or fixed length tooling, you generally do not want to use G43 tool length offsets.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Code question

Postby JohnsCNC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:20 am

Thanks for the help. No tool offsets, yet.
JohnsCNC
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade CNC


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests