Where are the helical post processors?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Where are the helical post processors?

Postby spyderxxx » Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:35 am

When I watched the new features of 9.5 I was interested in the helical posts. However I cant find them. Is this an Aspire only feature?

Ed
spyderxxx
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:51 am
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: my own design

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby Adrian » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:03 pm

You have to edit the post processor yourself to create the sections for helical arcs that relate to your setup or see if there is one available on the support site of whatever control software you're using.

The ShopSabre posts are the only ones I know of that come with the helical arc sections in as standard.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby martin54 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:19 pm

There is a bit about it in the 9.5 is here thread, sure I read another post about it as well but can't find that. If you try a search you may have more luck, I am not that good with searches :oops:

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=30471
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3986
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby IslaWW » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:54 pm

For the most part, post processor modifications of upgrades would be handled by the OEM or MFGR of a given machine. Or not, depending on whether that feature is compatible with the controller that runs the machine.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby Tailmaker » Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:19 pm

I added the following 4 blocks to the regular "g-code(mm)" post processor (right before the end section) and renamed the "post name" line. That worked right away. Have not tested it much, though.

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for clockwise helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G2[X][Y][Z][I][J]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for first clockwise helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE
"G2[X][Y][Z][I][J][F]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3[X][Y][Z][I][J]"

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output for ccw helical arc move
+---------------------------------------------------
begin FIRST_CCW_HELICAL_ARC_MOVE

"G3[X][Y][Z][I][J][F]"
Tailmaker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby spyderxxx » Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:18 am

Thanks
I'll give it a try

Ed
spyderxxx
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:51 am
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: my own design

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby spyderxxx » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:32 am

Tried a few times but couldn't get modified file to show in the list of post processors. I sent a request to support and received a working file promptly.
Thanks again
Ed
spyderxxx
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:51 am
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: my own design

Re: Where are the helical post processors?

Postby Adrian » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:23 pm

The list shows the name of the post processor rather than the file so if you didn't rename it by changing the POST_NAME at the start of the file it would have shown up as whatever that name was set to.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adze_cnc and 23 guests